Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Hate Evil?

Do You Hate Evil?

That may seem like a strange title to a blog post that deals with mostly Christian “stuff”.  Most of us will answer, “Absolutely!  I hate evil as much as anything.”

I would like to say that I hate evil.  The problem is that I would probably being lying.

I think all of us would say that we hate Big Evil.  You know what I mean, right?  Murder.  Slavery.  Destruction.  You know.  Evil that disgusts us.

What about other evil?

Evil that is subtle.

Evil that sneaks into our lives.

Evil that seems fun or makes us laugh.

Evil that we justify.

Evil that, before long, seems to become a part of us and that we feel like we need.

That is the evil that I’m talking about.

Do you hate it?

King Saul didn’t think he was doing anything wrong when he didn’t follow God’s command to destroy everything when he conquered the Amalekites and let Agag live.  He justified his actions.  He made it ok.  He thought he was doing God a favor.

What did Samuel do when he came upon the scene?  He hacked Agag to death.

Do you hate evil enough to hack something to death?

Do you hate evil enough to radically remove something from your life?

Not because of legalistic reason.

Because you hate evil.

And you hate evil because you love the Lord.

Do you really hate evil?

  1. March 22, 2012 at 5:15 am

    You got me thinking here Larry (but I will keep reading). :) If I hated evil enough I would hack my computer to pieces. If I hated evil I would hack all desire to get a newer and bigger vehicle to pieces. If I hated evil that new book i want would be hacked to pieces. Not that any of those things are wrong in themselves but when they cause thoughts to go awry or money issues to arise or jealousy issues to crop up, then they need hacked. So, no, I don’t.

  2. March 22, 2012 at 5:21 am

    Bill, I don’t think any of us do enough.

  3. March 22, 2012 at 11:18 am

    it’s like we choose the lessor of 2 evils…even though evil is evil no matter how you paint it…

    but then again…paul tells us the everything is good but not everything is benenficial…thats where we have to see which end of the line those two meet…

  4. March 22, 2012 at 11:36 am

    So true we seem to like the evils that suit us but they are still evils….as a sin is a sin…no matter if its stealing grapes at the grocery store or killing someone…they are both sinful things…

  5. March 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    I hate evil… but most of the time it’s after its already made me laugh or become a part of my life. And then it becomes hard to hack it to pieces.

    • March 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm

      Yes. When that happens radical surgery is often required. And that isn’t fun.

  6. March 22, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    You bring up a good point. We are so good at rationalizing, justifying or “ranking” things that are evil. But in His eyes, evil is evil. There are no degrees. Again, I think it comes down to keeping our hearts in check so that we are more aware and more willing to run from those things that should not be a part of our lives.

    • March 23, 2012 at 4:56 am

      And if we’re running toward Christ, we will definitely run away from evil.

  7. March 24, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Deep stuff here…good post! I hate what evil does to my family, to the kids I work with, to my loved ones and me after it has already taken root in our lives. But I don’t seem all that passionate about it when I sit quietly by as it initially drops in as something “just a little off, but not too serious.” It’s the little foxes that spoil the vine…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,232 other followers

