Home > Christianity, Church, Faith, First Church Year > First Church Year #12: Easter Edition

First Church Year #12: Easter Edition

By the time you are reading this, Easter is over.  The eggs are gone.  There is probably some leftover chocolate.  What else, though, can I say about Sunday at church.

Simply put, we celebrated.

Sure, we celebrate every Sunday, but we seem to celebrate a little “harder” on Easter Sunday.

We celebrated the gospel.  Christ died for our sins.  He was buried.  He  was raised on the third day.

It is this gospel that binds all of us at  my church (and your church too) together.  Nothing else.

One of the things that I have tried to focus on this year is community.  This gospel is what makes this community of believers possible.

I could go on and on about all of the details of what went on at my church on Easter.

Simply put, like I said before, we celebrated the gospel that makes us a community of faith.

That is what Easter is about.

Not the bunny.

Not the eggs.

Not the chocolate.

It’s about the work of Christ.

That’s what I love about my church.  It’s about the work of Christ.

How was your Easter Sunday?

  1. April 9, 2012 at 5:09 am | #1

    Ours would have been good either way, but it was especially good to see many folks who haven’t been there in awhile. Our building is way too small and some have chosen not to come because of the closed-in feeling but they braved that yesterday. We had a special offering that will allow us to renovate and go from 800 sq ft to 1800 sq ft. We had a good day.

  2. Sele
    April 9, 2012 at 10:47 am | #3

    We had a good day at church as well. Sunrise service was followed by a great breakfast and some good fellowship.

  3. April 9, 2012 at 11:39 am | #5

    Pretty amazing weekend, with 4 services, I painted a parking grid on our grass lot, and more chocolate than I consume the rest of the year combined… Also, Sunday was the end of Lent… So I got to drink coffee and Dr Pepper… Plus, Jesus is alive, so all in all it was a pretty awesome weekend :)

  4. April 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm | #7

    My Easter Sunday was pretty awesome. One of the first times I got to spend the day with a family where I felt like I belonged. Which kind of correlates to your whole community theme.

  5. jonstolpe
    April 9, 2012 at 7:18 pm | #8

    My Easter Sunday was good. I had the opportunity to worship at a church in Duncanville, TX where my dad is the interim pastor. We went to two services on Sunday, Sunday school, and the Easter breakfast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,023 other followers

