Less Is More

Yesterday’s post was a short one.  It was one of the shortest one’s I have written in a while.  Nothing like my old Twitterific Thursday posts, but still short, around 250 words.

Last week I wrote some longer posts.  A couple of them were in the 800 word range.  Whew!!!  That was about double what I normally write.  I like to shoot for 400 words, giving me room to flow on up to 500 if needed.

I suppose I like to write what I read.  I like shorter posts that just give me a thought, an idea, a nugget.

For me, I suppose, less is more.

*****

When I really jumped heavy into church at the age of 22, I dove in head first.  I went to visitation.  I sang in the choir.  I was at church every time the doors were open.

Later on, when I got married, it was more of the same.  I didn’t sing in the choir, but it wasn’t long until I was teaching Sunday School and Discipleship Training.

Those were the things I did, more or less.

*****

It’s not difficult for us to take too much on in our lives.  We tend to take too many things on in our lives.  In church, it’s easy to do this.  At work, it’s easy to do this.  In life, it’s easy to do this.

That’s why I’ve been writing the life management posts on Fridays.  None of us are immune to this.  We will fill our lives up with too much.

Discover your vision for life.  Something wants to enter your life that doesn’t fit your vision?  Don’t let it remain.

Find your life mission.  What is your life really all about?

Make sure you know what your values are in life.  Your big rocks.  Focus on them before the gravel and sand fill up your life.  If not, the big rocks won’t fit.

Why?

Because in life, less is more.

Do you find it hard to say no?  Do you take too much on?

  1. June 3, 2014 at 9:38 am

    At times I do. I often can tell cause I’ll work myself sick. Literally. Less is more. I try to have this mentality even with church. I want people wanting to come back next week wishing they had more each week.

    • June 4, 2014 at 5:48 am

      Rob, if everyone in our churches used their gifts and talents, no one would have to work themselves sick. You would be able to focus on preaching and pastoring.

  2. June 3, 2014 at 10:12 am

    My problem comes because this is my calling, my life. I have to remind myself other people have lives and they are volunteers. I have also had to learn to say no.

    • June 4, 2014 at 5:46 am

      Bill, I think a lot of pastors, unintentionally, forget that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,236 other followers

