Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > The Effect Of Disney On Introverts

The Effect Of Disney On Introverts

If you recall, I spent an entire week at Walt Disney World recently.  Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and I have written about how good our experience was.  However, I am a bit of an introvert, so that is something that I had to deal with.

WaltDisneyWorld

We went to Disney before the huge crowds truly arrived.  Most schools had not let out yet.  A co-worker went during Memorial Day weekend, just after we left, and faced massive crowds.  Yet, it was still buys.  According to statistics, approximately 17 million people attend the Magic Kingdom alone during a given year.  That translates to around 46,500 people per day.  In layman’s terms, that’s a lot of people in a small area.

So, how did that affect us?  Lauren is an extrovert.  She was flying high the entire time.  The rest of us?  We needed to rest by mid-afternoon so we could go some more in the evening. (Full disclosure:  I’m a University of Tennessee football fan.  100,000 people crowd into Neyland Stadium on Saturday’s in the fall.  I love it, but I’m worn completely out after a game.)

So, what can I learn from this?

First, the more people I’m around, the more tired I get.  It has absolutely nothing to do with those people.  I gain my energy from reading and spending some time alone.  I can then function pretty well around people.  I didn’t have much time to myself, so I was running on empty by the time the week was over.

Second, it was not as tiring as a having to go to a party.  If I have to go to a party where I have to mingle with a lot of people, I am completely fried by the end of the night.  The only way I can counter-act this is to get off by myself and people watch.  Some people then think you aren’t being social.

Third, it’s important to get some time alone while you, the introvert, are engaging in activities that require being around large groups of people.

So, what’s the spiritual and church lessons?

There are several.

Remember that introverts are normal.  Just because we are super social folks at church doesn’t mean we don’t like people.  I love people.  I just like them in small doses.  I like to talk to one or two people.  Walking around and talking to a lot of people is uncomfortable.

We don’t get excited about parties that involve the entire church.  The larger the group, the less social I become and the less I talk.  The noisier and wilder it gets, the more I’m going to withdraw.  I might flee outside for a bit to get away from it.

Give us time to think.  Some extroverts talk so rapidly and answer so quickly, we introverts can barely get a word in.  We definitely have a lot to say.  Trust me.  I know I do.  I just might need you to pause so I can get my words out.

Disney reminded me that I am a bit of an introvert.  I definitely enjoyed it.  I just have to pace myself differently than an extrovert.  It’s the same way at church.

Are you an introvert or extrovert?  Do large groups of people stimulate you or suck your energy from you?

  1. June 5, 2014 at 6:04 am

    I’m an extrovert. Over the top one my wife would say. I love people. I love crowds. I like to watch people and since I can’t ride the rides at most amusement parks any more I love to people-watch. I also like to be alone from time to time. However, I feed off people. Maybe that is why introverts are so tired when they leave. i suck the life right out of them. :)

    • June 5, 2014 at 6:05 am

      Bill, activity that forces me to be more like an extrovert definitely wears me out.

  2. June 5, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Larry, this reminded me so much of working with Stephen. I’m more of an extrovert and he an introvert. Your points are right on.

  3. June 5, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I am a borderline extrovert. I love being with people, but I also find it helpful to have some downtime.

  4. June 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    “m kind of in the middle. I am very intimidated by large crowds and am way more quiet in a large group setting. In Disney, I feasted on the setting and the different people, but I did need my quiet time afterward to recharge. I could be with others at that time, but I didn’t want to interact. So maybe I’m not so much in the middle, haha. If I’d not been allowed to settle down for an hour or two in the afternoon or evening, I would have come home in bad shape. I can do long drives with people, but I definitely love it if they sleep or just are quiet for some part of it.

    And I need quiet time after a long phone call, or an intense exchange of ideas. Like a meeting or call for a project or if I’m training someone. It wears me out. Is that true for you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,136 other followers

