Home > Blogging, Life Management > Why You Need A Life Plan

Why You Need A Life Plan

For the past few Fridays, and a couple of other days, I have written about creating a life plan by determining your vision, mission and values for your life.  The question that has been hovering out there is why.  Why would anyone need to create a life plan?

Why

I can’t really answer that question for you.  However, I can tell you why I need one.  Let me describe a typical day in my life.

I get up every morning around 5 am.  I spend about 30 minutes alone before I start getting the rest of the house up.  Jan is first.

We begin getting doing all of the things necessary to go to work.  I have a son that I have to get up for high school and a daughter who I make sure is up for college.  We try to get out of the house by 7:30.

I manage a team of that processes sales for the largest homebuilder in the country.  I normally have one to two meetings per day.  I receive phone calls from our home centers that stretch from coast to coast.  I’m involved in transitioning to a new workflow system, as well as any other troubleshooting required of me.

I try to get a run in at lunch before I eat.  I scan Twitter and/or blogs while I eat.  I might listen to a podcast while running and eating.

Oftentimes I have to pick my son up from practice or attend a game after work.  Our church has a mid-week meeting that we usually get to attend about every other week due to the cyclical nature of our business.

I normally get home around 6:30 each night.  I normally help clean the dinner dishes up afterwards.  I try to spend some time with my kids.  I’ll watch some TV and/or read.  Then we go to bed to start it all over.

The weekend consists of catching up on all chores that I couldn’t do during the week.  We go to church and visit family on Sundays.  Then we start the week over again.

I imagine that this is typical of many.  There is a lot going on and a lot of moving parts to life.

There are also plenty of opportunities to add to an already busy life.  If I’m not careful, the things that I really want or need to do can get crowded out of my busy life.

Determining my vision for life helps me remember why I’m here.  If something tries to enter my life and it conflicts with this, then I decide whether I want to temporarily allow it to enter or not.

Find my mission for life keeps me pointed in the right direction.  Anything that I can see that will get me off-course has to be taken under heavy consideration.

My values are my big rocks.  They are the most important things in my life.  Other things are often chunks of gravel and sand.  They may be good things.  They may even be things that I will allow in my life  from time to time.  If I put those things in my life “jar”, there won’t be any room for to put my big rocks.

That’s why I need a life plan.  This might be why you need a life plan.

Do you have a life plan?  Is it something that you might consider?

  1. June 6, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    My “plan” is to be daily in the Word and daily on my knees. If I keep to that plan, everything else falls into place. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,136 other followers

