Home > Christianity, Church, First Church Year > First Church Year #31: Random

First Church Year #31: Random

Some days I’m just not as focused as I should be.  This occurs at work.  It occurs in my family.  Why should it be a surprise that it happens at church as well.  Sunday was one of those Sundays.  Here are some of the things  that happened and went through my mind.

I am not a touchy, feely type of person. I have to know you for a while to be comfortable with much more than a handshake.  I had two occurrences of being touched and patted on this past Sunday. One was by someone I have known for twenty-five years or so, which is a long time when you are only in your mid-forties and haven’t gone to church with that person except this year.  She patted Jan and me and I am cool with that.  Her husband asks me to help with the offering quite often and squeezes my shoulder.  I’m cool with that too.  However, someone I don’t know very well punched and patted on from one shoulder to the next.  I thought I was going to scream.  I only say this as a word of advice to anyone reading this: be mindful of this if you are a touchy, feely type.  Not everyone likes it. It doesn’t mean I don’t like you.  Unfortunately, it was difficult for me to focus on the service after that. I kept feeling myself getting poked and prodded.

Churches are pretty much the same.  What I mean by that is that there are godly people in all churches and there are ungodly people in all churches.  The problem is that sometimes it’s difficult to determine the difference.  Some godly people don’t always strike you that way.  Some that are ungodly seem very righteous.  Often, you have to wait and watch for their fruit to tell.

Every church has its own “liturgy.” My previous church did this way: Call To Worship, Welcome, Fellowship, Hymn, Hymn, Offering, Special Music, Sermon, Invitation, Benediction.  My current church has a liturgy too. I’m getting pretty good at timing everything and knowing where we are in the plan.

I haven’t had a pastor in a while now.  My church is searching for one.  I would like to have a good pastor.  I haven’t had a pastor at all in over a year now.

I wonder about why we do some of the things we do in our churches.  Why do so many of our churches have services on Sunday morning, Sunday evening and again on Wednesday?  I wonder what today’s pastors would think about having a schedule like Martin Luther or Calvin, where you preach a new sermon just about every day, write books, plus pastor the people?

How about you?  Do you stay focused every Sunday?  What strange thoughts go through your head?

  1. August 21, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I am a person who likes to hug, etc but i also know my limits. I can read people’s body language, but also know that it takes time to establish rapport with people. There is one young man whom I met while he was in jail and have continued to mentor him. We give each other “man hugs.” Others I wouldn’t get as close as a ten foot pole. Be interesting how we would be if we ever met. 🙂

    • August 21, 2012 at 5:40 am

      Bill, I think it would a shake/man hug. I feel like I’ve gotten to know through our blogs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

