Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Community Revisited

Community Revisited

At the first of the year, I proclaimed my One Word for 2012 to be Community.  Community is something I longed for and something I needed.

I certainly have expanded the Deuceology community through more people following this blog and joining the conversation.  I truly appreciate the support of everyone who takes the time to read, comment and participate in this blog.  I have seen tons of growth this year in this area.

However, if you look at my personal life, I’ve had a harder time.

I truly do believe that the local church is meant to be a community of believers who are joined together by their faith and pursue a like-minded mission.  There is no place where followers of Christ should feel more at home. There is nowhere else a Christian should be as safe or feel at home.

Alas, that is not the case for me.

In a less mature time of my life I would have blamed everyone else.  I would have said that those people have a problem.  I would have wondered why they are all unfriendly.

I’ve come to realize that it’s really me.

I’m pretty busy with my job.  I work my forty-five plus hours per week.  That doesn’t count the time I drive to and from work every day, which is another five hours.

I’m pretty busy with my kids.  I have a daughter who is a senior in high school.  She has activities.  My son is a freshman.  He has activities.  I’m involved in those things.

I’m pretty busy with maintaining my home.  There is always something to do, some chore to complete.

Then there is anything else I need or want to do.  I’m pretty busy with that stuff too.

However, when it’s all said and done, I’ve decided that I really don’t make community a priority.  I just really don’t want to “do life” together with other people enough.  I might have to be vulnerable and let my guard down if I tried to do that.  It would be dangerous.

You might say that I’m scared.

I’m the same guy who was too scared to let people get really close to him in high school and college.  I’m just older and set in my ways.  I just can’t seem to just muster up the effort.

So, I want community.  And I don’t want community.  All at the same time.

Community is my one word this year.  Just not the way I thought.

 Does community come easy for you?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: ,
  1. August 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Let’s start a club. I totally relate.
    I love community, I see the need for community, and I preach living in community to anyone I come in contact with. But my life sometimes contradicts this idea, and busy schedules, the need to have time to myself, and sometimes flat out fear of rejection keeps me away. It requires constant work for me to stay plugged in to community the way the Bible teaches I should.

  2. August 22, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    It comes easy for me now…a year ago? Heck no! I wouldn’t have intentionally met with or communicated with anyone. But community and communication go hand in hand. Gotta give it a shot. Make it intentional. It’s hard at first..but it definitely gets better and is definitely worth it.

  3. jonstolpe
    August 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I’ve gone back and forth on this. I know that we need to be in community…”Two are better than one; a chord of three strands is not easily broken”…”don’t give up meeting together…spur each other on towards love and good deeds.” It’s easy to say (or type) these things, but it can be challenging to live it out.

    Keep working at it, Larry. Community is so worth it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

