Home > Uncategorized > First Church Year #32: Missing Church And Not Minding It

First Church Year #32: Missing Church And Not Minding It

On Sunday, I missed church and I didn’t mind it.

Here’s the situation.

Jan, my wife, had a family reunion.  My son, Andrew, had not been feeling well the past few days, so I let him rest and we stayed home.  My daughter, Lauren, went to Sunday School at the church my kids attend part-time.  She came home and went to the reunion with Jan.

Church time came and went.  Normally, I will have a feeling of missing something.  This time?  Nothing.  I didn’t miss it at all.

That’s about as far as I want to go with this.  I simply didn’t mind missing church at the church I joined a few months ago.

Have you ever missed church and not minded missing it at all?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ricky Anderson
    August 28, 2012 at 1:53 am

    Yes, but now I feel guilty retroactively. Thanks a lot.

  2. August 28, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Larry, over the course of the past few months during a transitional period, we missed church more often than we went. But it was a much-needed rest.

    That said, I think we’ve now found a new home.

  3. August 28, 2012 at 4:42 am

    If I miss I am in deep horse doo-doo. that being said, there have been times when I have been unable to attend anywhere (it will happen later this month in fact) and while I used to feel guilty, I no longer do. I figure that God is bigger than a building.

  4. robshep
    August 28, 2012 at 5:40 am

    I miss it every time but being on staff I am probably a little different. I love church. Even on vacation I try to find a church to go to. I might be weird like that.

    • August 28, 2012 at 5:44 am

      Rob, I generally miss it. This is the first time in my memory where I didn’t have this pang of missing it.

  5. August 28, 2012 at 7:35 am

    I haven’t been to church in about a month. I haven’t missed it, to be honest. I sorta feel guilty about that.

    • August 28, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Jamie, I have always felt strange when I missed. Not Sunday. It was weird, actually.

  6. David Anderson
    August 28, 2012 at 8:56 am

    It missed you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

