Home > Christianity, Faith > Grace, Grace, God’s Grace

Grace, Grace, God’s Grace

I’ve never had anyone request that I write about a subject.  Nah, that’s not correct.  My friend, Dave, has thrown out a few things that he wants me to write about.  But I have never, ever had anyone make a real, live request on my blog asking me to write about something.

Until yesterday.

A reader asked me to write about grace.

I know I’ve mentioned grace before, but I don’t think I have ever written a post that was focused on grace.  Here’s why.

I don’t get it.

Don’t misunderstand me.  I’ve got it.  Christ is my savior.  His grace is enough for me.

I just don’t understand it.

Why do we have a God who makes these rules.  The penalty for disobedience is death.  Then He pays the price for our disobedience.  It makes no sense.

So, I think up ways to understand it in simple, imperfect human terms.  Like someone inviting another couple over.  Most of the time, the invited couple will return the favor.  But what if they don’t?  The couple that invites will usually quit inviting them if they don’t return the favor.

But what if, instead, the couple continues to invite this couple over and over and over and over.  They are never invited over to the invited couple’s house.  But they don’t mind.  They invite them over to eat.  They provide the meal.   They enjoy the fellowship.  It’s all GOOD.

That’s a bit of how I picture grace.  God inviting us into a relationship, where He provides the Way into the relationship.  He expects no payment, because we can’t pay Him back.  He doesn’t expect us to return the favor, because, honestly, how can we.

One of the best pictures is the woman caught in adultery.  Thrown in front of Jesus, an answer is demanded of what to do with her since she was caught breaking the Law.  Jesus doodles, tells the one who is without sin to cast the first stone, and doodles some more.  When the men turn tail, Jesus tells her to go and sin no more.

Go.  Freely.  Sin no more.

Grace is a life where we have been freed.  Out of love we respond with a life of pursuing a relationship with the One who has freed us instead of a life of sin.  It is a life where we know we have no reason to be able to approach this relationship, but we can anyway because of He is the Reason.

Thanks for asking me to write this, Michelle.  I haven’t even scratched the surface, but I have an eternity to live this life of grace.

Do you understand grace?  Does it make sense to you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. September 6, 2012 at 1:15 am

    Larry, grace is. He is the I AM, and grace is. It just is. There’s no understanding it, really. We just have accept it.

    I mean we all mostly “get” mercy, right? The withholding of a deserved punishment. But grace? If mercy is a free “cake,” grace is the sweetest icing on top: not only have we not gotten what we deserve (death), but are also handed what we don’t deserve (eternal life).

    Grace rocks!

  2. September 6, 2012 at 5:25 am

    I understand grace. I am a recipient of it. But I don’t “get it.” I am continually baffled by the immense love of the Father for me.

    • September 6, 2012 at 5:40 am

      That’s a great way to put it, Bill….bafflement. Baffled that He extends it. It is His character, but looking at us, it makes no sense that He does that.

  3. September 6, 2012 at 5:28 am

    the best way to understand Grace is this.

    when someone is caught sinning, or is struggling with sin,
    tell them all their sins has been forgiven.

    rather than tell them “thou shall not sin”
    tell them their Past, Present and Future sins are all forgiven.

    if you get oppositions from that message, then you have preached Grace!
    if you are thrown this verse “shall we sin that grace may increase?”

    then you have understood grace. 🙂

    – grace and peace

  4. September 6, 2012 at 5:30 am

    Do I totally get it? Probably not. I’m grateful to be a parent, because I think this gives me a small glimpse into the world of God’s grace. Grace is a gift – completely undeserved, but given still.

  5. robshep
    September 6, 2012 at 5:42 am

    One of my all time favorite song lyrics is “the beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair.”

  6. Arny Sanchez
    September 6, 2012 at 10:13 am

    i like a song by justin barnard (shane barnard’s brother from shane and shane)
    it’s called welcome to love.
    some lyrics go like this:

    “you’ve stepped into a life where mercy reigns
    and grace becomes the law
    you have now become adopted sons and daughters of our God”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

