Home > Christianity, Church, First Church Year > First Church Year #34: Sickness

First Church Year #34: Sickness

So, Saturday I went to see my Tennessee Volunteers in their home opener.  We got there in time to get drenched by rain.  Naturally, we left our ponchos in the truck, along with my hat.

What does that have to do with the First Church Series?  Everything this week.

I woke up yesterday with my nose running and feeling wiped out.  This is not normal, even after staying out late for a ball game.  I tweeted out that I felt like “crude” (auto-correct won’t catch that) and that I thought I was coming down with the crud.  There has been a little viral thing that seems to be going around over the past few weeks.

Here’s the thing:  I could have made it to church.  The problem is that I would have been sitting around people while I was sniffing and snorting and wiping my nose.  I know how I feel when people are around me doing that.  I wish that they had stayed home.

If it had been a work day, I would have gone to work and pushed through.  Sometimes, though, I think I should have stayed home from work.  However, I’m the manager of my team and I have this sense that I have to be there, even though they do a great job when I’m not there.

If I had been the pastor of the church, I would have gone and preached.  I did go to the campground I serve at and spoke there.  I did have “church” in a sense that I met with fellow believers and we looked at God’s word together and prayed together.

My question, today, is where is the line between staying home when you don’t feel your best and pressing on to go church?

  1. September 10, 2012 at 4:44 am

    Good question. But Larry, you know as Christians we are not supposed to ever get sick. We just pray for healing and go on in faith. 😉
    But honestly, in the situation you mentioned above, I would have felt so guilty about not going after being at the game and knowing I would go to work anyway, I would have gone to church and been one of those people you wish would have stayed home. I guess that means my guilty conscience is more important to me than others’ health…wow! I’m selfish!
    Now I just like my first answer better…

  2. September 10, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Yes! With all the virus’s going around we don’t need to be infecting the people around us. I pray you feel better.
    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed

  3. September 10, 2012 at 5:18 am

    As a pastor this is a tough one. i see people stay home from church in weather that they would go to work or a ballgame in (particularly snow). It frustrates me. But at the same time I know there are OCD people who cringe when anyone around them shakes their hand let alone sneeze and cough. I think you made the right choice.

    • September 10, 2012 at 5:59 am

      Bill, weather is kind of tricky. I go to work in whatever weather we have. It frustrates me when people stay home from work because of snow. So, I wonder people will stay home. But there are times I think that should cancel church for people’s protection, especially older folks. You have to take each situation on a case by case basis.

  4. September 10, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    I’m on your side on this one. QUARANTINE!!

    • September 10, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Well, I don’t know about a full Quarantine. 🙂

  5. September 10, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    If you’re contagious, stay home.

    Otherwise, you make the call. I’m sure God understands if you need extra rest. Just get back as soon as you can!

    • September 10, 2012 at 9:23 pm

      I agree, Jon. What always amazes me are the parents who bring sick kids to church. It’s kind of like, “Hey, do you want my kids sick too?”

  6. September 12, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Church isn’t just a building, it’s a family. Christ died for the church as in a group of believers, the children of God who happen to gather at a common location. The Body is a blessing we are given to be apart of, but God’s love is unconditional. It’s not dependent on whether you walk into a building, God’s grace is free. It is a commandment to LOVE God with ALL of your heart, ALL of your soul, ALL of your mind and ALL of your strength. It’s a gift that we can go somewhere with other people to do that with.

    • September 13, 2012 at 5:19 am

      Absolutely. When I say I’m going to church, I don’t mean a building.

  7. September 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    I’m glad we’re on the same track! So it’s not a bad thing to stay home if you are sick. If God leads you to stay home, than do so. It all comes down to your heart behind it, a pastor has a little bit different of a story and more things to consider because he’s leading a group of people so his prayer for not going is going to look different. Some people who love being at church services might do anything to be there, whether sick or healthy; whether that’s the smartest decision for the rest of the body as far as spreading diseases go that’s probably not the best idea; but if one knows that our relationship with God is not a factor of how many times we walk through a door, then staying home should be ok, right? We can also have patience and serve the people around us who are sick, even if they’re in the church and that might be displayed in just loving them even though they sound like a train wreck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

