Home > Christianity, Faith > Yeah, About Those Goals

Yeah, About Those Goals

I often talk big and make ideal statements.  I lay out how I should be living based on what I read in the Bible.  I write this blog where I discuss where faith and life meet each other in our lives.

The problem is that I have a problem living out what I write and say.  I write and talk about how I want things to be and how they should be.  Living them out?  That’s another story.

One of those areas is my prayer life.  If you have been reading me for a while then you probably know that one of my favorite verse is Psalm 37:4.  Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

My assumption has always been that if I pursue Him, my desires will flow from Him.  The problem is whether or not I actually believe that on a daily basis.

Do I really pursue Him and delight in Him, so that my desires will flow from Him and I will desire what He desires.  Rather than to be or not to be, that is the question.

I wrote down some goals at the beginning of this year.  Why?  Because I thought that my goals, my desires, were flowing from Him.

I haven’t achieved one of those goals this year.

Now, someone could say that I haven’t worked hard enough at those goals.  I haven’t put in the effort.  Maybe that’s so.  But maybe, just maybe, those goals didn’t come from Him, but they only came from me.

They weren’t bad goals.  They just weren’t, as I now believe, streaming from His fountain.

So, if you read my goals that I listed out at the beginning of 2012 or if you go back and read them, they’re scrapped.  I have thrown them on the heap of my desires.

I have one goal right now.  Pursuing Him.  Filling up on Him.  Asking Him to make His desires my desires.

Do I still have desires and goals?  Yes.  But I don’t want to pursue them.  I’m taking them to Him.  I’m laying them at His throne.

I’m asking Him to fill me up with the desires He has for me.  I’m asking Him to give me my goals.

I don’t expect a list of 10 things He wants me to pursue over the next one, three and five years.

Here’s what I expect.  I expect that He wants to be my number one.  If that’s the case, then I think anything else I do will correspond with that.

I don’t think it’s any harder than that.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. September 11, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Larry, I think it was St. Augustine who said “Love God, and do as thou wilt.”

    When you look down deep into your heart, past all the clutter and noise, what is that makes you come alive? That’s what you should do, that’s what you were made for.

  2. September 11, 2012 at 5:30 am

    I totally agree with Chad’s answer. I made a decision years ago to not list any goals for the new year. I do have some things written down that I would like to accomplish but I am not a slave to them. My one desire is “to know Him.” My favorite verse, btw, is Psalm 37:5

  3. Nancy
    September 11, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Loved your post. I started reading your blog based in your comments on robshep.com (you think Reagan and Nixon were great presidents, and I agree!). Plus you are a UT fan and I now have two kids that are UT alumni. Thanks for sharing your thoughts in such a genuine manner.

  4. September 11, 2012 at 8:19 am

    This reminds me so much of myself. And it reminds me of Paul when he says, “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.” By the way, I call that the “do-do” verse 🙂 He’s referring more to stumbling but I feel his frustration because I know what I want and I know what direction I want to go yet I get so easily distracted and am prone to doing the exact opposite of my goal.

    Recently, God has been teaching me a lot about planning vs. preparation. I think he calls us to be prepared for HIS plans. But if you’re like me and likes to plan how I’m going to plan, it’s easy to get off course. The good news is that you’ll always end up right where he wants you to be! 🙂

  5. Arny Sanchez
    September 11, 2012 at 10:44 am

    its not…
    seek ye first the kingdom and its righteousness…and everything else will be added…

  6. September 11, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Good on ya!

  7. September 13, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve struggled with goals this year, the first year I’ve made goals since I was a kid. I’ve struggled with my failures particularly. I do still believe in writing down and communicating what I want to accomplish, but I also know I made a big mistake in my pursuits this year. While what I wanted was to be a better steward of what God has entrusted to me – money, health, friendships, etc. – I was attempting to do everything on my own. It’s hard to glorify God when you’ve left him out of the equation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

