Home > Family > Why I Didn’t Write About 9/11 Yesterday

Why I Didn’t Write About 9/11 Yesterday

Yesterday there were plenty of blog posts, tweets and Facebook statuses about 9/11 and rightfully so.  That day eleven years ago was one of the most tragically memorable days our lives will ever see.

However, I hardly acknowledged it.  Perhaps you wonder why.

Three years before 9/11, in 1998, my son Andrew was born.

Too many people tell him that he has a terrible birthday.  I love his response: “It was my birthday first.”

None of us will ever forget the tragic events that happened in 2001.  We will always be reminded of the act of terrorism that landed in our land.

However, I choose to take a more optimistic view of the day.

I choose to focus on the positive reminder of what happened in 1998.

Andrew Carter was born.

I became a dad for the second time.

I have someone to influence positively and who impacts my life in a positive fashion daily.

That’s why I didn’t write about 9/11 yesterday.

Categories: Family Tags: , ,
  1. September 12, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Years ago, my pastor (during the church service) piped up and said, “Let’s dedicate that baby!” on my infant daughter’s first Sunday at church. Hard to turn down that offer, even though we hadn’t invited grandparents or anybody. So we went ahead and did it.

    It wasn’t until after the service that I realized that we had dedicated our daughter 26 years to the day after my father died. A happy thing to remember. God scheduled it through my pastor, I guess, since I wasn’t smart enough to do it on purpose.

    I like it when a happy anniversary helps overshadow a sad one.

    • September 12, 2012 at 4:54 am

      That must have been a head scratcher at first. That’s quite the picture of redemption.

  2. September 12, 2012 at 5:02 am

    I chose not to write about it either Larry. Reasons different than yours but mainly because so many others would be. I like your reason better.

  3. jamiekocur
    September 12, 2012 at 7:44 am

    That’s a really good reason. 🙂

  4. Arny Sanchez
    September 12, 2012 at 9:29 am

    You go Larry Boy!…
    I know MOE has mixed feelings too…..he was on his Honeymoon when it happened…so his wedding anniversery is always a reminder…not cool…

    • September 13, 2012 at 5:19 am

      That had to be tough on Moe and his wife. It had to be a bit harder to enjoy that honeymoon.

  5. September 12, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I posted something last year. I didn’t this year and it was mainly because I had nothing to add to what I said last year.

  6. September 13, 2012 at 12:54 am

    Larry, that’s a great reason! Way to accentuate the positive!

    I didn’t write about it because I didn’t feel I could do such an event justice–like it’s too hallowed, to sacred somehow for my poor words. But we did talk about it, as a family, over dinner because it’s important for our kids to know.

    • September 13, 2012 at 5:17 am

      We did talk about it. I remember back then Andrew asking why those bad guys were doing that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

