Home > Christianity, Faith > Is God Good During Tough Times?

Is God Good During Tough Times?

I’m spending a lot of time these days writing about how God is good.  This is something I believe with all of my heart.  God is good and he wants you and me to know it.  So, He challenges us to taste and see that He is good.

Why?

What is the purpose of knowing that He is good?  What about when things just aren’t good?

God causes those things to work together for GOOD to those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

If you are a believer in and follower of Christ, then God is going to cause ALL THINGS to work together for GOOD.

How about that?

How do you keep your head up during tough times and terrible circumstances?

You remember that God is good.

You remember that, because God is good, that He works these things for good.

Is that easy?

No.  I have to remind myself of this only about every day.

However, my memory is not a reflection of the reality of the situation.

God is good and He works everything out for my good.  And yours too, if you love Him.

What’s God’s goal in all of this?

The ultimate good in all of this is that we will be conformed to the image of His Son.

In other words, tough times and terrible circumstances enter our lives so that we will become more Christlike.  God works these things for our good in order that we become more like His son.

Bad situation enters our life.  God uses it to move us along in the process to be like Christ.

That’s good.

Do you believe God is good during tough times?

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. September 13, 2012 at 6:14 am

    I love that you have made reference to Rom.8:29 also Larry. many want to focus on v.28 and hang their hat on it. It is a true verse but the reality is verse 29. he wants us to be conformed to the image of His Son. so whether situations are good or bad, He is good and wants us to conform to His Son’s image. Oh, that little saying that is so popular today wears on me.

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      Bill, I was tempted to leave it out…but I think that means a whole lot more than us just eventually getting a good life.

  2. September 13, 2012 at 7:25 am

    Yes, I believe that God is good above anything else–and understanding that made everything else fall into perspective. Knowing that God is good answers every question you don’t have an answer for—-Do people really go to hell? I don’t know, but I trust that God is good. Why do the innocent suffer? I don’t know, but I trust that God is good. It’s not simplistic, or naive, it’s the perspective of absolute, highest truth–God is good, all of the time.

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      God is awesomely good all the time. No matter what.

  3. September 13, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Amen. The hard part is remembering that God’s goodness does not necessitate my temporary happiness.

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      Right. I’m selfish about my happiness. I have to get over that all of the time.

  4. September 14, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Yes. I’ve seen the goodness of God – especially in the tough times of life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

