Home > Christianity, Faith > The Spiritual Discipline Of Sleep

The Spiritual Discipline Of Sleep

On Monday, I left work early feeling bad.  I had not felt good for a few days.  It was going to be useless for me to stay at work, so I went home.  I changed clothes, climbed into my recliner and slept for about two hours.

When I woke up, I felt better.  I had a better attitude.  My perspective was clearer.

In short, I was better than before.

I wondered if there was a spiritual side to sleep.

I thought back to when Elijah fought the priests on the mountain.  After winning, he was on top of the world.  Then Jezebel threatened his life and he fled.  He went into the wilderness, sat down under a tree and slept.  When he woke up, an angel provided food and he ran for forty days to Mount Horeb.  There he received further ministering from the Lord.

The point of this story is not sleep.  However, it’s not something to be ignored.

Elijah was at his wit’s end.  He had just had a huge spiritual victory.  His life was threatened.  He was stressed and he left the area in a hurry.  He didn’t seem to be taking care of himself.

The first thing he did when he got away was sit down and sleep.

Imagine that.

It wasn’t to go to the temple.

It wasn’t to go have fellowship.

It wasn’t prayer.

It wasn’t to sacrifice.

It was sleep.

Elijah slept.  Then he ate and drank.  He got off by himself..  He spent time with Lord

All proceeded by sleep.

Sometimes we just need to rest.  Sometimes that can be the most spiritual things we can do.

Do you want a boost to your spiritual life?

The first thing you might want to do is  make sure you are getting the proper rest and sleep.

Maybe we should make sleep a spiritual discipline.

Do you get the proper amount of sleep?  Can you tell a difference in your spiritual life based on the amount of sleep you get?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , ,
  1. September 26, 2012 at 5:44 am

    My cycling friend (also a trainer) said I don’t get enough sleep. I was going on 5 hours a night. I now try to get at least 6. I am an early riser and get things done early. To get a full 8 hours of sleep I would have to go to bed at 8:00. I do sometimes catch a catnap from time to time and that seems to do the trick. I do like to sleep in on my day off but that doesn’t happen very often as I can’t lay in bed very long before “arthur” visits. I have to admit to times of simply going home, sitting in my recliner and zoning out. Hope you are feeling better my friend.

  2. September 26, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Absolutely. If I don’t sleep enough, I get grumpy. There’s nothing spiritual about grumpiness.

  3. Dan Black on Leadership
    September 26, 2012 at 10:25 am

    What a great post, God calls us to be stewards of out body and life and sleeping is one aspect of being a good steward.

  4. September 26, 2012 at 10:27 am

    I probably don’t get enough at this point, but manage pretty well most of the time.

  5. September 28, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    Guilty! I know I don’t get enough sleep. I typically live on 6ish hours a night (many times less).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

