Home > Christianity, Faith > Wrong Questions, Right Answer

Wrong Questions, Right Answer

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I ask a question and I get an answer that isn’t relevant to what I want to know.  When I think about it, I often realize that what really happened was that I asked the wrong question.  If this happens in normal everyday life, why should we be surprised when it happens in our life of faith?

How often do I have to go to church?

Do I really have to give 10 percent?

How often should I read my Bible?  Should I in the morning, at night, or both?

Should I start my day off with prayer?

How far can I go with this girl I’m dating and still be pure?

Insert your own question, any question.

I think all of these and most that we can think of are the wrong question.  The answers we come up with will not be sufficient for our goal.  What is that?

To draw close to God.  To be like Jesus.  To be holy as He is holy.

What is a really good question to ask?  How can I get closer to God?  How can I be more like Jesus?  How can I become more holy?

When Jesus is our goal, then we can dispense with those other questions?  When Jesus is our goal, we don’t have to ask how often we have to be at church or how much money we give.  Our lives become a total sacrifice to him.  Each moment is driving us close to Him.

When Jesus is the goal, the questions don’t have to be asked because He is the Answer.

Do you ever ask the wrong questions?  Do you know the Answer?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. September 27, 2012 at 5:22 am

    You hit on something that so many Christ-followers struggle with: where is the line? So we ask questions that will quantify or qualify where that line is. We see the line and say, “Whew I am in it.” But the issue is not what can/can I not get away with but how can I get closer to Jesus? Good point today Larry.

  2. robshep
    September 27, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Yes to both.

  3. September 27, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Such a great reminder, Larry. We get sidetracked with the wrong questions. And sometimes, I think we asked the questions as a way of making excuses and to stall from what we know we need to do.

  4. September 27, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Too often we focus on external behaviors when the reality of the inward-dwelling Christ and us dwelling in Him should be the focus. When this happens–the external behaviors will be changed.

  5. September 27, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    Yes, Larry–on both counts. The biggest paradigm shift I’ve had this year is this:

    my view of the Bible has changed. It’s gone from a book about God, filled with propositional truths, to a book of relationship. And when I pray, I do so as if Jesus is present, i.e., conversationally. “Jesus, what do you think? Jesus, where’s this? Jesus, what’s going on here?”

    It’s about acting like He’s present–because He is. It’s about surrender. It’s about believing I can the same kind of relationship the disciples had. And He’s showing up in amazing ways!

  6. September 29, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    I do it. Then I try to make the answer I get somehow twist around to fit.

  1. October 3, 2012 at 7:03 am

Leave a Reply

