Home > Christianity, Faith > Bring The Noise???

Bring The Noise???

For a while, I wanted to boost the readership of my blog.  I worked hard at it.  I wrote a lot.  I read a lot of other blogs.  I commented.  I tweeted my posts out several times a day.  Steadily, the views and comments on my blog grew.

I’ve been wondering about all of that lately.

I’ve wondered if I have been just contributing to the noise.

Yes, contributing to the noise on other blogs.  Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy the conversation.  But I wonder if I’m just noise on some blogs.  Just another blast of white noise being pushed into the blogosphere.I twee

Not just there, though.

Am I raising the noise level in my own life?  Am I being so noisy in my own life that I can’t hear what is important?

The Bible tells to “Be still and know that I am God.”

Are we still and quiet enough to really know him?  Or are we so busy with the noise we make that we can’t hear God in the quiet?

In 1 Kings, Elijah did not hear the Lord in the strong wind or the earthquake or the fire.  He was not in all that noise.  The Lord was heard in a gentle blowing.

The Lord was heard when everything quieted down.

That’s what I need in my life.  Maybe that’s what you need in yours.  Maybe that’s what we all need.

Are you contributing to the noise?  Do you need more quiet in your life?

*Yes, that is a Public Enemy and Anthrax reference in the title.  What can I say?  My musical tastes were quite varied when I was younger.

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. September 28, 2012 at 1:08 am

    I would’ve gone all Quiet Riot on this with “Come on Feel the Noise,” but that’s just me. 😉

    Anyway, as to your point: for myself, I feel I’m called to write, and it’s up to God to bring the increase (or not). If I’m not doing it for love, I’m just a blog monkey.

  2. September 28, 2012 at 6:47 am

    I hear you.

    Not that what you’re saying is ‘noise,’ but I’m focusing on quality over quantity. For over a hear I wrote 3 posts per week religiously.

    Now I’m doing two (occasionally three) because I wanted to publish my ebook and that’s been rewarding.

    Quality is key!

  3. Arny Sanchez
    September 28, 2012 at 11:20 am

    i don’t think we even know what to do in the quiet anymore…

  4. September 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    I get it. I often feel like there’s no time to be still and know. This takes intentionality.

    As for my writing and interaction in the blogosphere, I hope it’s not just noise. I want my writing (and my reading) to bring glory to God – stretching myself and others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

