Home > Christianity, Faith > What This Post Is Not

What This Post Is Not

This post is not what I intended to write today.  If I had posted that one, you would have wondered if I had lost my mind and why I was so negative.

I was (and am) frustrated by a couple of things.  I will even write that post when I can do it in a way that does not sound quite as negative as what I originally wrote.

However, it did lead me to write this one.

This is not a negative post.

This is about what I do when I feel the negativity winning and taking over.  It is about what happens to me when negative thoughts try to rule my life.

I fight.  I do everything I can do to beat negativity.

I may be slightly predisposed to being negative.  I may have a natural negative outlook on life.  That doesn’t mean I have to let it stay that way.

Life happens.  That doesn’t mean that I just ignore negative situations.  I deal with them.  I think about how I can make it a positive in my life.

Take sin, for example.  I find myself committing a sin.  I could wallow in the negative and let that sin defeat me.  Or I can look at it as proof that I’m not completely where I need to be yet in my relationship with the Lord.  I find that I need to fight to make my relationship with Him better and stronger.

I fight.

What this post is not is a negative piece about what has temporarily brought me down.  It  is about how I fight to battle negativity in my life.

How about you?  Do you give in or fight negativity?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. pjgracecommunity
    October 9, 2012 at 3:14 am

    God bless you man, this is the place when christian can help each other as any confession brings heal especially from pride.

  2. October 9, 2012 at 4:44 am

    I fight!

  3. October 9, 2012 at 5:56 am

    It helps to surround myself with positive people and influences. Honestly, I look for some of this here in the blog world.

  4. October 9, 2012 at 6:18 am

    I think you brought up a point I’ve had to learn over the years. We don’t ignore…we face them. This is where the growth happens.

  5. October 9, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I am generally a positive person (except when WP logs me out for no reason and I have to log back in…Grrrr) and so when negativity rings I shudder. Then I fight to bring it down. I don’t have time to dwell on the negative, nor do I like what it does to me.

    • October 9, 2012 at 10:41 pm

      Bill, I try to tell myself everyday to be positive. Thanks for setting the example.

  6. Ricky Anderson
    October 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    “I may have a natural negative outlook on life. That doesn’t mean I have to let it stay that way.”

    Brilliant.

    • October 9, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks Ricky!!! Love hearing from my favorite New Mexican. Is that the right way to say that?

      • Ricky Anderson
        October 9, 2012 at 5:13 pm

        Yup!

  7. October 9, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Sometimes we have to dive down the rabbit hole just to see how deep it goes. What I mean is we can’t shrink back from confronting those unpleasant parts of ourselves–because it usually Jesus who is wanting to bring something to our attention. I’ve found that my most deeply held convictions were those laid down in pain, and it is only with pain that He brings them to light, and heals the wounds.

    Good on you, Larry, for confronting your darkness!

    • October 9, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Chad, sometimes in the darkness, the Light shines brightest.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

