Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Authentic

Authentic

My friend, Rob, asked this question in his blog a couple of days ago:

What characteristics do you think make someone awesome?

Here is the comment I made:

Authentic.  Awesome people are authentic.

I relate that to you to tell you that I am not awesome.  I have trouble with being authentic.

I have trouble letting people in to know the real me.  How many people do I really let in?  Less than a handful.

Maybe this is why I have trouble having true, authentic friendships.  I have mastered the art of authentically being friendly.  I have not mastered the art of being an authentic friend.  If you followed my life, you would be able to tell that by the people I truly hang out with in life.  How many you ask?  Outside my family, really none.  That doesn’t mean I don’t have a lot of friends that I like a lot.  I just have trouble with deep, authentic friendship.

Maybe this is why I have not enjoyed church the way I want to in well over a decade.  Not that I don’t enjoy the Lord or the Church.  I just haven’t enjoyed church on a big scope level.  I’ve enjoyed pockets of it from time to time, but just can’t seem to get over the hump to consistently enjoying it the way I want to enjoy it.  I’ve tried to talk myself into it for quite a while.  I just can’t seem to get there.  ( I could point to many reasons, but that would be for another post.

I could pretend.  I could fake it ’til I make it.  I could pretend to have great friendships.

I don’t.

I could pretend.  I could fake it ’til I make it.  I could pretend that everything is going great in church.

I can’t.

I will try to pursue great friendships.  I will pursue the enjoyment I seek in church.

I will just be authentic.

Do you have trouble being authentic?  What do you do to combat it?

  1. October 10, 2012 at 5:11 am

    Unfortunately, depending on your perspective, “what you see is what you get” with me. My personality just comes at you (hopefully not in a gross pushy sort of way) but I tend to be way more open than i should. Someone described me as “presumes a familiarity that is not there.” Yeah, that sums it up. So, if we ever meet face-to-face, I’m giving you fair warning. 🙂 And I hope that happens some day. I think we can be friends.

    • October 10, 2012 at 5:14 am

      Bill, I would love to meet you and so many of the folks who I visit with here in Blog Land.

  2. October 10, 2012 at 7:08 am

    “I have mastered the art of authentically being friendly. I have not mastered the art of being an authentic friend.” That’s very well said, Larry. Love how you make the distinction between being friendly and being a friend.

  3. robshep
    October 10, 2012 at 7:19 am

    I pray that God would help me be real. The more I find my identity in Jesus the more real He makes me. I have a long way to go but I’ve also come a really long way.

    • October 10, 2012 at 7:26 am

      Rob, I love how Paul identifies himself in Romans 1: bondservant of Christ, called as an apostle, set apart for the gospel of God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

