Home > Christianity, Faith > Can I Get An Amen?

Can I Get An Amen?

You’ve been in that church service.  The preacher makes a point.  You can tell he expected spontaneous combustion or something.  Unfortunately, for everyone in church that morning, that isn’t what happened.  Instead he got this.

Silence.

You know it’s coming.  You can feel it welling up in your pastor’s shoes.  It begins to travel up his legs straight past his diaphragm into his belly.  It travels around his stomach a time or two to gain speed.  Up it goes, goes, goes.  Then you finally hear it.

“Can I get an amen???”

Immediately the chairman of the deacons wakes up from his mid-morning nap to exclaim as loudly as possible, “Aaaaaaa-Mannnnn!!!!”

And the preacher got his amen.

In one swift moment, the pastor morphs from proclaimer of the word of God into someone who helps lift girls up on Saturday afternoons and yells into a megaphone.  He is actively soliciting reaction for his  preaching.

If you are a preacher, you’ve probably done it.  I know I have.

The question is, should we?

And what happens if you actually didn’t get an amen?  What if someone stands up and yells,”Nay-men!!!”  What if no one agrees with you?

What if you were heckled?

Asking for an amen is dangerous.  Be careful what you wish for.

Have you ever asked for an amen?  Have you ever gotten no response?  How did you react?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. October 17, 2012 at 4:57 am

    I always thought it was hokey to ask for one. Then I asked for one. Then I realized how hokey it was. And dangerous. And downright self-gratifying. I have never asked for one again.

  2. robshep
    October 17, 2012 at 6:24 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever asked for an amen. I like your thinking.

  3. October 17, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Ha… That would be pretty intense to get some hecklers start off into “nay-men.” It is a funny phrase though, the whole, “Can I get an amen?” I mean, if it were to carry over into the office world, it would be like your boss asking in the morning meeting, “Can I get a ‘that was a great idea’?”

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:36 am

      Kind of crazy, right??? And Stephen, your post yesterday led me to write this.

  4. October 17, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Dude! I’ve never preached a sermon, but I have gotten caught up in seeking affirmation in the blogosphere–begging for attention, comments, etc.

    The thing about such things is that whatever we give the power to affirm us by definition also has the power to negate us.

    And that’s a terrible treadmill to try running on.

    • October 17, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Chad, it doesn’t matter if it’s a sermon or a blog. It all ends up being the same thing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

