Home > Christianity, Church, First Church Year > First Church Year #39: 10 Years

First Church Year #39: 10 Years

I received an invitation on Friday to attend a 10 year celebration of a church I helped plant.  For the first time in nearly a decade, I attended this church yesterday.

It was very interesting.  Of course, several people were there that we know.  We were greeted warmly by them.  We were also greeted  by those who did not know who we were.

There were several references to our first meeting in Alabama.  As I looked around, I could see the result of that first meeting years ago.  People who joined this church since we left had no idea that we were part of that original dozen or so people who met.  It was a fascinating trip down memory lane with so many people not knowing that we had those memories.

One of the most interesting things stated during the service was that this church had shaped a lot of people over the past ten years.  I realized when this was said that it was definitely true for me.  This one church, which I helped plant and had not been to for close to a decade, has shaped my life even though I wasn’t there.  I won’t go into the sordid details of  why I haven’t been there for ten years.  Needless to say, it has not necessarily shaped my life for the best over the last decade.  That has been my fault.

Here’s the real deal.  I haven’t really enjoyed church over the past ten years.  Not the way I want to.  Hopefully, by coming around full circle yesterday, I can take the steps to enjoying church like I want to.  I look forward to the journey.

How was your church service yesterday?

  1. October 22, 2012 at 4:57 am

    It was the best one on the planet. ‘course I am the pastor and have to say that. 🙂 Seriously thought…two things: maybe you can heal and I was tired from a 57 mile bike ride on Saturday but prayed that God’s strength would be mine. I believe it was.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

