Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > I Almost Quit

I Almost Quit

I almost quit the other day.

I almost quit writing this blog.

I didn’t see the use anymore.  What good is it doing me to write this thing?  “I might as well quit”, I told myself.  It’s just too hard, I told myself.

I couldn’t think of anything to write.  Life was tightening up around me.  I was having to go to two football games each week, three if I had tickets to my Vols.

I was stressed out from the campground ministry I’m part of.  I get that way during the last five or six weeks of it.  I was tired of passing out fliers every Saturday night.  I was tired of basically not having a life on Saturdays for half the year.  I was tired of getting up earlier on Sunday mornings to finalize what I was going to talk about.  I was just tired.

I almost quit.

I kept writing.  Sometimes, I had to make myself.  I wasn’t happy with what I was writing.  It wasn’t what I wanted to produce.  I shipped, but I wanted to ship something else.

Then someone made a comment.

I connected with them through my blog in some way.  They were going through something and what I wrote encouraged them.  And they let me know.

Thank goodness.

Because I needed it.

I needed to know that someone woke up one day and needed to read what I wrote.  Not because I’m some genius writer who knows exactly what to say just the right way.

I needed to know that the Lord had used me in some way to do something for someone else.  I needed Him to validate what I was doing.

I almost quit.

Have you ever almost quit?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. kelcyward
    October 23, 2012 at 2:16 am

    Keep on keeping on. To please God, all we have to give is Love. Love comes in many forms.. so just express love in your blogs =)

  2. robshep
    October 23, 2012 at 4:27 am

    I’ve almost quit lots of things. Glad you didn’t quit this!

  3. October 23, 2012 at 6:13 am

    Larry, you have something worth sharing. Don’t quit! Please.

    • October 23, 2012 at 6:25 am

      I’m not Jon. It was one of those days/weeks, you know?

  4. October 23, 2012 at 6:46 am

    The answer to your question: yes. Several times over the past few years I have thought “what’s the use?” Am I really making an eternal difference here? For some reason though God will not let me go. Glad He didn’t let you my friend.

  5. Ricky Anderson
    October 23, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Of course I have. Glad you didn’t.

  6. October 23, 2012 at 9:24 am

    I’ve been there, and have been there with blogging.
    I’m definitely a big fan of Deuceology, Larry! Glad you didn’t quit.

  7. October 23, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    I think that we all have that feeling from time to time regardless of what work we are doing for the Kingdom. I just keep reminding myself that I can’t always see and understand the results of the work I do for Him. I just have to trust Him to tell me when it is time to stop.

    I am encouraged by your words daily as well, you don’t always know it because I’m not always real good about showing up and letting you know that. I do look forward to seeing what you have to say each morning.

    • October 23, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      Sele, I read yours everyday as well. I just often don’t know what I want to say in the way of comments. But I am always edified in some way.

  8. Dan Black on Leadership
    October 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I relate with how you are feeling Larry. Many times I have thought about quitting my blog but each time I’m glad I didn’t. I have found when I’m feeling this way I need to take a day off from writing to nourish myself.

    • October 25, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Dan, I need a few days off…and plan to take some at Thanksgiving.

      • Dan Black on Leadership
        October 26, 2012 at 12:38 am

        I’m sure you will be refreshed. I’ll be praying for you my friend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

