Home > Christianity, Faith > I Am A Prodigal

I Am A Prodigal

I am a prodigal.

You know what I mean.  You are too.  You’re prone to wander just like I am (Lord, I feel it. Prone to leave the God I love)

You have left Him.  You have gone off on your journey.  You are working for a different master, one who makes lots of promises that can’t be kept.  Just like me.

You have slopped the pigs.  You have climbed into the pig pen and gotten messy.  You have hit times where you have kneeled down and eaten the slop meant for the hogs.  Just like me.

Somewhere along the way, you have come to your senses.  Not on your own.  Never on your own.  You have realized where you were and how much better you had it.  Just like me.

You have begun the journey.  You have started walking.  At some points, you want to run so you can get there quicker.  It doesn’t do any good.  You are so far away.  You can’t make it.  Just like me.

Then you see Him.  Standing there.  Waiting.  Watching.  He sees you.  He runs to you.  He puts His arms around you.  He loves you.    Just like me.

You just want to get back.  Get back home.  Get back to where you once belonged (Get back, Jo Jo).  Just like m

I am a prodigal.  You are too.

Just like me.

  1. October 24, 2012 at 5:57 am

    Three words: way too often. But the truth in the words to that song “arrest” me time after time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

