Home > Blogging, Christianity > How I Work

How I Work

My friend, Jim Woods, has told me before that he was amazed that I can publish a blog post every day.  It’s really not that hard, but it doesn’t really happen the way I wish it did.

If I had my druthers, I would get up every day and go for a run.  I would come back, take a shower and drink some Diet Mountain Dew.  Then I would go to my special writing place and knock out a couple of blog posts.  I would schedule them and then write some other stuff for the remainder of the day.

That’s not how it happens.

Below you will see a picture I took at work.  It is a list of blog ideas that I had one day at work.  I was really focused on some work I had to do that day and suddenly the gates opened.  Idea after idea after idea flowed.  I started scribbling  those ideas on this sheet of paper.

 

After that, I would kind of look at them and mull them over in my mind.  I got rough ideas for what direction I wanted to go with each one.  Then I just kind of sat down and wrote some.

That’s it.

Nothing special or magical.  I just wrote.

A few of them came out completely different from what I originally intended.  Some of them tend to take on a life of their own and they tell me how to write them.  It’s an interesting process.

That’s how I work.

Oh yeah.  I prayed.  I asked the Lord to give me the words and use me.  I pray He does.

If you are a blogger, how do you work?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity Tags: , ,
  1. October 26, 2012 at 2:01 am

    If it is a pre-game or post-game piece, it is a rather structured thing: I purposively sit down and write, knowing what I have to do. But if it is another type of article, I wait until I get a germ of an idea from some kind of inspiration. Then I let it rattle around a bit – I marinate with it. Then I might float a key concept out there – verbally to my wife, or a blurb on twitter just to see what it looks like. Then I just sit down and write as quickly as I can to get it all out. Then I usually let that sit for a time: a few minutes or a few hours, and then do some final editing/polishing.

    And then I mentally move on.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    October 26, 2012 at 10:28 am

    I think to myself, “Oh yeah! I have a blog!”

    Then I go and write drivel that makes me laugh.

    • October 26, 2012 at 10:51 am

      And your “drivel” makes many of us laugh.

      • Ricky Anderson
        October 26, 2012 at 3:17 pm

        Thanks, Larry. Means a lot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

