Home > Christianity, Faith > What Are You Seeking?

What Are You Seeking?

I don’t really know if they are still in vogue or not.

Seeker churches, that is.

What I do think is still in vogue is people seeking.  They are seeking something.  We are all seeking something.

We may be seeking enjoyment or pleasure.

We may be seeking financial gain.

It could be security.  Or peace.  Or prosperity.

You name it, and people are seeking it.  Whatever it is we are seeking, we believe that it will solve all of their problems.

Some folks are seeking enlightenment.  You may see it in someone  pursuing education.  You may see it in someone seeking it through Buddha.

I have a friend named David who told me recently that he felt I was seeking something.  I have to say that he was right.

I’m not seeking these things mentioned above.  I’m not seeking enlightenment.

I’m seeking the Light of the world.

I’m not seeking wealth.  I’m seeking the One who owns it all.

I’m not seeking peace.  I’m seeking the Peace-giver.

I’m not seeking an experience.  I’m seeking a Person.

Am I seeking?  Sure I am.  He found me.  Now, I’m seeking Him.

Who or what are you seeking?

  1. November 6, 2012 at 5:32 am

    Love this post Larry. i don’t know if the “seeker” churches are still in vogue either. But in reality, the idea of reaching others (seekers) should never be out of our sight. Plus, as you have stated, I am seeking Him also.

    • November 7, 2012 at 5:27 am

      Bill, great point. If people are seeking, we ought to be there ready to help them find Him.

  2. Rob
    November 6, 2012 at 6:18 am

    Well played! I like what you did here. I am seeking Jesus. And a building for our church. I believe God is going to give us a building.

    • November 7, 2012 at 5:28 am

      Rob, have you read The Circle Maker. I don’t agree with everything in it, but it does inspire me to pray for those things that I think God has planned in my life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

