Home > Christianity > Why I Believe In Evolution

Why I Believe In Evolution

I believe in evolution.

A lot of my readers just did a double-take and may have spit out their favorite beverage at whatever time of day they are reading this post.  Before you go real crazy, grab your pitchforks and head to Dunn Holler, don’t worry.  I’m not talking about monkeys evolving into men or a critter slithering out of the primordial ooze.

I’m talking about how I’ve changed over the last twenty years or so.

I’ve matured a bit. (Hopefully) Sure, I’m still a bit of a clown.  I try a light approach much of the time.  At work, I try to keep the team I manage in a good mood with some humor.  But I have my serious moments when I need to.

I’ve changed spiritually too.  My views have changed on many things over the last two decades.  Have my core beliefs?  No way.  I believe that Jesus was the eternal Son of God.  He lived a perfect life.  He died on the cross, shed His blood, and paid the debt for my sins.  Currently,  He sits at the Father’s right hand awaiting the time that He will return.  There are a whole of other things that I consider essential beliefs, but those haven’t really changed either.

No, where I have evolved is in a lot of non-essential matters.  You want to do away with the traditional Sunday morning, Sunday night, Wednesday night model for doing church and try it another way?  You want to play a different style of music than was done 25 or 50 years ago?  Have at it.

If it doesn’t affect salvation and or change the nature of God and other essentials, then I say cool.  Go for it.

Heck, there are non-essentials theological matters that I believe that a lot of you probably don’t.  That’s ok.  I won’t force my non-essentials on you.

I have evolved over the years.  Have you?

Do you believe in evolution?

Categories: Christianity Tags: ,
  1. November 8, 2012 at 1:31 am

    Nice. Well, I believe in the evolution of Larry. And it’s cool to see how far you’ve come.

  2. November 8, 2012 at 5:20 am

    have I evolved? Let’s see…how much time do you have? Man, o man, have I changed. My core beliefs haven’t that much (other than no longer feeling baptism is the point of salvation…which I no longer believe). But, like you, I have lightened drastically on my non-essentials. Keep evolving Larry.

  3. November 8, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Yup. In college there was a lot more legalism in me. I think I’ve gotten rid of most of it, but it can come back like a plague.

    • November 9, 2012 at 5:33 am

      Rob, funny how so many of us start in legalism….and have to fight it once we escape it.

  4. November 8, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    I believe in evolution! I believe it is always good and healthy to rethink what we do and what we believe. That shouldn’t threaten salvation and it’s core beliefs, but it sure can threaten the “status quo” that we so often get used to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

