Home > Christianity, Faith > Overcoming The Resistance

Overcoming The Resistance

Imagine driving down the road.  You are going about 65.  You don’t have a care in the world.  You are listening to some good music on the radio.  Suddenly,  you see the speed limit sign that says you are in a 50 mph zone.  You tighten up and wonder if a police officer is around.  You take your foot off the gas.  You let out a sigh because you got away with that one.

Why?

Because of the sign.  You became aware that you were breaking the law.

That happened to me the other day.  I began reading Stephen Pressfield’s The War of Art.  Suddenly, I saw the Resistance everywhere.

I saw the Resistance that causes me to not go for a run.

I saw the Resistance that cause me to not sit down and write.

I saw the Resistance that causes me to not do the things that I say I want to do or need to do.

We all encounter the Resistance.  It may be an excuse.  It may be a good reason.  Regardless, the Resistance will meet us in any way and form it can to prevent us from doing what we want and need to do.

How about in the Church?

Yes.  The Resistance is there as well.

The Resistance will tell you that you shouldn’t go to that church.  What would people think?

The Resistance will tell you not to join a small group.  You might get hurt.

The Resistance will tell you to go on Wednesday night after work.  You can’t show up late.

The Resistance will tell you not to give.  They will waste the money.

The Resistance will tell you not to go on the mission trip.  You might get sick.

You will encounter the Resistance in whatever circumstances you face in the Church.  The question is will counter the Resistance?

How will you overcome the Resistance?

  1. November 11, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Love the book and his Turning Pro also. Fighting Resistance is a daily struggle. And it looks different every day. I have had to develop the discipline of getting up to write and run every morning to overcome that Resistance, but still struggle in other areas of my life. Great post!

    • November 12, 2012 at 5:00 am

      I definitely want to read his other books after I finish this one.

  2. Dan Black on Leadership
    November 11, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    I still need to read that book. I feel the resistance and am still learning how to overcome it. Great post and thoughts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

