Home > Christianity, Faith > I’m A Runner

I’m A Runner

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a runner.  I’ve been running, in one form or another, all of my life.

I started out running around my grandmother’s house when I was young.  I would have her time me as I would try to set a new record time after time.

I was the fastest player on my little league football team.  My favorite part of practice was the first thing we did, which was to run “to the pole and back.”  I always wanted to win, even when the coaches would make me wait until everyone else had started.

When I moved up to pee wee football, I trained for my first 5k after practice.  Looking back, it was probably crazy to run three miles after a two-hour football practice when I was in the sixth grade.

I began running track in the eighth grade when our middle school started a team.  I was middle distance runner from the get-go and ran through high school.

I have run most of my adult life.  I still love to get out and run by myself.  It allows me time to think and pray.  I don’t think my relationship with the Lord is ever as good if I’m not running.

Unfortunately, there’s the dark side to my running personality.  I’ve been known to run from some relationships in my life.  A time or two I have run from responsibility.  I have run from God on a few occasions.  None of that is very pretty.

Regardless of that, I want to run in my relationship with Christ.

I want to run with endurance the race set before me.  I want to lay aside every encumbrance and sin that entangles me.

I want to fix my eyes on Jesus as I run this race.

I want to run in such a way that I win the prize.

I want to run in such a way that I did not run in vain.

I want, in the end, to be able to say that I have kept the faith and finished the course.

Are you a runner?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. November 12, 2012 at 5:33 am

    I used to run fast, but time, injuries and age has certainly changed all that. what hasn’t changed has been the times I still run from God’s clear challenge to me to be a godly, pure man. Thoughts. Motives. Actions. But I am glad God’s arms are always at the finish line of my own efforts welcoming me home.

  2. November 12, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    I am a runner.

    • November 13, 2012 at 4:55 am

      Jon, you came to mind while I wrote this, knowing you were.

  3. November 13, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Man- that was probably one of my favorite Deuce posts right there. Great stuff, Larry.
    And yes, I love running. As Forest Gump taught us, it’s a great way to grow a beard.

    • November 13, 2012 at 4:54 am

      Stephen, that made me laugh right there. I’m picturing you running across the country with Forrest. What was it that made it one of your favorites?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

