Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You Being There?

Are You Being There?

Bryan Allain wrote a tweet on Election Day.  This should surprise no one as he is apt to write tweets quite often.  I remember reading it and chuckling.  It was a good tweet.  It was funny.  I even quoted it to my family.  Then I forgot it.  That is I forgot until the next day when the news about  it.

It seems that this little innocent tweet about Ohio having 75% vowels had gone viral.  It received recognition from Time magazine as one of the better tweets of the day.  In other words, this tweet hit the big time.

I write a lot of tweets.  Many of them are just throw aways.  I have my fair share of retweets.  Here’s the thing though.  I write some that I am proud of.  I thing that they really pack a punch.  They say a lot.

Guess what happens?

Those usually fall flat.

Then I am mystified when some are retweeted and make the rounds.  I don’t understand what it is about them that makes people want to retweet.

That’s the point.  Some things resonate with some people and not with others.  A tweet hits at just the right time for someone.  A blog post is just what someone needs.

The key is being there.  A tweet hits someone’s funny bone.  A post is emotionally what someone requires one day.  Either way, you are there.

Being there builds communities.  Being there builds relationships.  Being there buys you credibility.

Being there resonates with all of your peeps.

It’s the same thing in our families.  Our relationships.  Our churches.

We have to be there.  If we aren’t there, then no matter what we say, we aren’t going to resonate with anyone.  We won’t have the impact on people that we want to.  We won’t be able to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus Christ as He would have us to do.

Are you being there?

  1. November 21, 2012 at 5:06 am

    Jim Elliott once said, “Wherever you are, be all there.” I am going to practice that this weekend. putting aside blogging and commenting, I am planning on being all there when I see my daughters and grandson. 🙂

  2. November 21, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Yes, Larry, I’ve noticed the same phenomenon: one never knows what’s going to stick. I call this the “Facebook Effect.” The response to a given post is usually in inverse proportion to its seriousness. The more fatuous, the greater the response. The more serious, sincere, heartfelt, the less the response.

    The preceding brought to you by Chance the gardener, who was great at Being There.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

