Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > What Made Me Laugh At….Myself!!!

What Made Me Laugh At….Myself!!!

As you may have been able to pick up on, my family and I have changed churches again.  Things are going well, thanks for asking.  The overall church experience is the best we have had in nearly a decade even though we miss several people at each of the two other churches we have been at over the years.

Yesterday, though, something happened.

I opened up the mailbox to get the mail.  A card was inside.  It was from the last church that we were at.  It was one of those cards you get when you haven’t been to church in a while.  There was a message telling us that we were missed and they hoped we were doing well.

The funny thing is that we haven’t been there in two months.

So I kind of chuckled to myself and shook my head.

Then I stopped.

Then I laughed again.  This time I laughed at myself.  Why?

Because I can’t count how many times I’ve done something similar.

Because I realized that I had made such an impression on those folks over nine months that they didn’t even realize we were gone until two months later.

Because this is happening in too many churches to count across these here United States of America.

Because it showed me just much we in the Church and our churches need to improve in how involved we are in each other’s lives.

Listen, I don’t hold it against them that they may have been a little bit late in noticing I wasn’t there  any longer.  I can’t be mad that they didn’t know until it was way too late that we were long gone from their church.

All I can do is kind of laugh at myself and use this as a learning experience.  I need to work on building community with my new church.  I need to make sure that no one slips out the back door.

I need to make sure that I don’t go two months without making contact with the folks I am in community with.

How involved are you with  the people in your church community?

  1. November 28, 2012 at 5:28 am

    Their thoughts may be “better late than never” but in reality the damage has already been done. It is too bad that churches do allow people to fall through the cracks. As the pastor I try to stay on top of things like this in my own ministry. I know I fail. It is so important that others get involved though. it is one thing to hear from the pastor (its expected); it is another thing to hear from someone in the community. I like your spirit. Don’t you have a transfer to mid Indiana in the works? 🙂

    • November 28, 2012 at 5:40 am

      Bill, Rob Shepherd wants me to move to the Norfolk area. Not sure I can manage both. 🙂

  2. November 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    This is a real challenge for many larger churches. I know our church is trying to find a way to stop the “revolving door”. We want our people to feel connected and to feel like they are part of the community. It takes work by everyone committed to the church to make this happen. Too many people expect the senior pastor to do it all, and it is just impossible in many situations.

    This is one of the reasons I believe small group ministry is so important. Small groups often know the pulse of people long before the whole body recognizes an issue.

  3. November 28, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to church and walked out not knowing or really meeting a single soul. These are neighborhood churches too. Church isn’t like it used to be when I was younger.

    • November 28, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      Unfortunately too many of our churches just don’t get it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

