Home > Christianity, Faith > Have You Ever Been Wrongly Judged?

Have You Ever Been Wrongly Judged?

Occasionally someone tries to lay a guilt trip on me.  Well, let me rephrase that.  It not really anyone I know.  It’s someone that I hear speaking.  They are usually very idealistic.  Here is what they indicate.

Since I ( or anyone listening) have so much, I should do without to help those who don’t have what I have.

In other words, I am accused of not caring for someone not as fortunate as me because I have something.

Here is my problem with that though.

They assume because I have X that I am not giving Y to someone.

They assume that because I have X that I am doing nothing to help those less fortunate.

They assume because I have bought X that I am uninterested in that other person.

In other words, they are trying to make me choose between THIS or THAT.

Maybe I’m wrong, but they don’t really know my situation.

They don’t really know how generous or selfish I am.

They don’t know the mistakes I have made that I am trying to recover from.

They don’t know what I am doing with my time.

I may be as selfish as they say I am.  They just really don’t know.

Sometimes they want to frame it into making sure that I give my fair share to fix the problem.

All I know is that framing me in a THIS or THAT argument does nothing to solve the real issues.

The real issue is my heart.  And your heart.  And their heart.

You can’t legislate my heart.  You can’t force my heart.

What you can do is make a great argument.  You can appeal to my better judgment.  Then get out-of-the-way and let me make the best decision between me and the Lord about it.

Just don’t assume THIS or THAT about my heart.

Have you ever had someone make an incorrect judgment about you like that?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. November 29, 2012 at 5:08 am

    There is a line in movie Under Siege 2: “Assumption is the mother of (mess) ups.” Cleaned up version. 🙂 I despise it when people make assumptions about me. I hate it that I used to do it all the time as a pastor. “If you aren’t doing X then you aren’t really a christian.” Really? Who am I to judge? You make a good point Larry. thanks.

  2. November 29, 2012 at 5:24 am

    Good word, Deuce! It’s true. As the Scriptures so aptly put it: “Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart.”

    It bugs me, too, when motives are ascribed, assumptions made, as if others know my intentions.

    But I don’t want to talk about it… 😉

  3. November 29, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Yup. I’ve also been guilty of doing it. Good words!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

