Home > Christianity, Faith > How To Stop Gossip And Judgment

How To Stop Gossip And Judgment

I heard someone say something derogatory about someone this week.  In fact, they had nothing good to say about this person at all.

Guess what they did?

They judged them.

I’m not going to get on them too hard though.  Why?  Because all of us do this from time to time.  In fact, much too often.

Here’s the deal.  Gossiping about people and judging could actually be our national pastime rather than baseball.  We spend a lot of time making assumptions about people based on how we feel about things or how we would react to situations.

Here’s what I challenge you to do.  The next time someone starts talking about someone, stop them.  Just stop them in mid-sentence.  Ask them to go with you to that person and find out if what they are saying is true.  Stop the gossip in it’s tracks.

If they will go with you, then you have probably won a victory over gossip and helped someone beat sin and helped a reputation.

If they won’t go with you, the you have probably made sure that they will never gossip around you again.

One more thing.

Stop gossiping yourself.  Just go ahead now and stop.  That’s what all of us need to do.

How would you stop people from gossiping and judging around you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. December 6, 2012 at 5:37 am

    I try to find something positive to say about the other person. In actuality, I think most people don’t want to gossip around me since I don’t listen to it very well. Can you say distracted?

  2. December 6, 2012 at 6:46 am

    Amen! I think it was Mark Rutland who taught in a sermon, “the quickest way to stop a gossip is to ask, ‘May I quote you on that?” I’ve found that people won’t gossip around me if I won’t gossip to them, or even say, “I don’t think we should be gossiping.” it’s hard not to get sucked in, though.
    “The words of a gossip are like choice morsels;
        they go down to the inmost parts.” Proverbs 18:8 AND 26:22

  3. December 6, 2012 at 9:51 am

    I find that when I start talking about Jesus the other person stops gossipping.

  4. Ricky Anderson
    December 6, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I secretly record them for later blackmailing. Gossip is very profitable, you know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

