Home > Christmas, Faith > Do You Have Dreams And Visions?

Do You Have Dreams And Visions?

No matter who you are or what your age is, I believe I can say something about you.  There is something I feel I can I can say definitively about you and me.

We all have dreams.  We all have a vision we wish for our lives.

Perhaps you disagree with me.  Maybe you think that the time for dreams and visions are over.  Maybe you think that’s ok for kids or even for those who are young in college or newly married.  Maybe you think that visions and dreams are rare now.

I might agree with you.  Except.  Except for the fact that there is a Dream Giver.  There is someone who is the Visioneer.  If we follow Christ we have a source for dreams and visions.

Long before Christ, God told Israel that there was a new day coming.  The Lord spoke through Joel and said there was a day coming when He would pour out His Spirit on mankind.  He said that sons and daughters would prophesy.  Old men would dream dreams.  Young men would see visions.

All of this would come through pouring His Spirit out.

Peter quotes this a few hundred years later as he is preaching during Pentecost.

Guess what?  This kind of talk scares people.  They don’t want to believe it.  They don’t want to believe that the Spirit will still give them dreams and visions today.

Why?  Why would this have stopped.  Nothing is said that implies that this is a one time thing.

I’m not saying that you will get a vision or dream from the Lord a day to direct every action of  your life.  I’m not saying that we will walk around in some mystical stupor just waiting for a sign, dream or vision.

I’m just asking if you want to have a dream for your life?  Do you want your life, marriage, vocation or avocation to have a vision?  How about your church?

Ask Him.

Ask Him to give you your dreams.  Ask him to give you the vision for your life.

He said that He would give dreams to the old.  He said He would give visions to the young.

Don’t limit yourself.  And for heaven’s sake, don’t limit God.

Do you have dreams and visions for your life?  Have you asked the Lord to give them to you?

  1. December 10, 2012 at 6:10 am

    I think it’s easy as we get older to let our dream muscles atrophy. A great exercise for working out our dream muscles is to hang out with young people. They don’t set limits on themselves. This is one of the reasons I love hanging out with our youth group. They have few barriers to their dreams.

    • December 11, 2012 at 4:48 am

      Jon, I like that about dream muscles. You have to exercise them.

  2. December 10, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I agree with Jon about our dream muscles. However, my dream muscles have seemed to have found new life. I am excited about this ministry and what and where God plans to take us. I hope I can carry this new found dreaming and visioneering into the grave with me.

    • December 11, 2012 at 4:47 am

      Bill, that’s awesome. As I get older, I can’t help but think of Caleb, who at 85 wanted the hill country so he could fight the giants. He continued to dream.

  3. December 10, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I have dreams and encourage others to do so as well with a caution to make sure they do not contradict or go against the words of Scripture.

    • December 11, 2012 at 4:46 am

      Matt, I didn’t say that, but I would always implicitly include that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

