Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Embracing The Uneasiness Of A New Church

Embracing The Uneasiness Of A New Church

I wake up on Sunday mornings with a skip in my step, earlier than I have in years.  I can’t wait to get to church.

It hasn’t been that way for a long time, so long that I cannot really remember.  When did I look forward to gathering with my brothers and sisters in a corporate setting?

It’s an upbeat time with music and prayer.  Wows and proclamation abound.  Worship is not experienced, but enhanced.

I look forward to going to church.  Simple enough.  That’s it.  That’s all.

Yet.

Yet there is an uneasiness.

There is a question that lingers inside me that I can’t answer yet.  No one can is my guess.  Only He can.

What will be my role in this new church?  What am I supposed to do?

Yet, I am in no hurry to answer that question.  There is no rush.

Why?

Because of what those who wait upon the Lord do.

They renew their strength.

They don’t grow faint in their walk.

They don’t grow weary when they run.

They mount up with wings like eagles.

After what I have been through over the past few years, I need this time.  I need this time of rest.

I need this time of uneasiness in a new church as I wait on the One who will lead to what He will have me do.

 I am embracing the uneasiness of a new church.

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: ,
  1. December 17, 2012 at 5:20 am

    I think your approach is the right one Larry. I often tell people who come to worship with us, and come from a rough place, to just sit and worship and heal. when the time is right and if they feel we are the right fit for them, take part. No pressure. Some people need time.

    • December 17, 2012 at 5:26 am

      Thanks, Bill. I think it also lets them get to know us and us to know them. I can’t imagine letting anyone “do” important things without knowing them.

  2. December 17, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Excited for you and for this new church.

    • December 17, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Rob, in my mind I think we are the Tennessee/Smoky Mountains version of Next Level.

  3. December 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    It’s great that you’re willing to wait for God to answer your question of what your role will be. It’s also encouraging that you want to have a role in this church. I know a lot of people who will come to a new church with the attitude of, “what can you do for me?” In reality they should be asking, “what can I do for this church? How can I make a difference for the Lord?”
    I hope God blesses you and your experience with this new church 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

