Home > Christianity, Christmas, Faith > A Christmas Visit

A Christmas Visit

I was driving around to my house the other day when I saw a rare sight.  It was one that sent a shiver up my spine.  A van was pulling into my driveway.

Now, for many of you, that may not seem like a big deal.  You live in the city or somewhere that isn’t too far off the beaten path.

Me?  I live in a holler.  Not a hollow.  Nothing that fancy.  A holler.  So, as I am apt to do, my antenna went up.

Was it someone who wanted to visit the Christy set?  Yes, the TV show Christy was filmed where I live around twenty years ago.  People drive by quite often and ask if they can go visit the set.  And, unfortunately, I have to say no.  The condition of what was left behind is not in the best shape these days.

Nope.  That wasn’t it.  It was the other best guess when strangers come to my house.

It was the Jehovah’s Witnesses.

Somehow they usually miss me.  Maybe they try to avoid me now.  One time they came by when I was building a deck over Memorial Day weekend.  I was hot and sweaty and didn’t have time to talk.  I just bear-hugged one of them and told him I loved  him.  I haven’t seen that fellow since.

This time it was a couple of ladies.  They opened up with some niceties and pleasantries.  Then they got to it.

“This time of year means a lot of things to a lot of people.” she said nice enough.  “What does it mean to you?”

I paused for a  second and said, “It means that God invaded the world in human form so that He could live a perfect life and die for our sins.”

From there she kept trying to show me in The Watchtower that Christmas really meant presents and family to me.

I told her that, yes indeed, we give gifts and spend time with family, but that Christmas is about Christ.

She tried to leave me her literature, but I declined.  I told her that there really wasn’t a point since I wouldn’t read it anyway.  I guess that isn’t true.  I’ve read them before, just to see what their take on things are.

The thing about it is there were two or three takeaways I had from this experience.

Once, none of us like people cold calling us at home, whether it’s a vacuum cleaner salesman or a JW.

Second, I really need to prepare a bit because they will be back.

Finally, Christmas is about Jesus.

Have you ever had an interesting Christmas visit?

  1. December 21, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Interesting visit you had there. They even do what we tend to do: assume you believe something when you don’t. Yeah, they will be back…loaded with lots of toys and goodies in their van. Oops wrong words. I live next to some JWs but have never been approached. Wonder why?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

