Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Breaking Down Those Walls

Breaking Down Those Walls

I was having a conversation with someone in my church family the other day.  We discussed some of the circumstances leading to us being at this church and he was visibly moved.  One thing he said really stood out to me.

He said, “When I had tried to talk to you several times, there was a wall there.  I knew something was going on.”

The Wall

Little did I know that I had created a wall between myself and this person.  Did I know something was there?  Yes, but not consciously.  I stopped and thought about it for a minute and realized that for nine years I had let a wall build between the two of us.

We live near each other and I would see him drive by on a regular basis.  Each time the wall grew thicker and taller.  I guess Pink Floyd was right, “All in all  it’s just another brick in the wall.”

For two months now we have been attending our new church and this person has been there and greeted us warmly.  The wall has been chipped at by both us during that time.

That conversation?  We both tore down the wall between us.  It took both of us making the effort.

Guess what?

That’s part of our job description as followers of Christ.

In Christ’s name, we are to tear the walls down that separate us from each other.  Why?  Because He tore down the walls that separated us from the Father.

Paul calls it a ministry of reconciliation.  Paul emphasizes that God is reconciling man to Himself.  Implied in that is that we must be reconciled to each other.

Jesus might have said that if your brother has something against you, then you should be reconciled to him over attempting to worship.

A ministry of reconciliation.

Breaking down those walls.

Do you practice a ministry of reconciliation?  Do you try to break down the walls in front of you?

  1. December 28, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Great thought Larry! The verses in 2 Cor. 5 ring true. Sure they are dealing with helping people come to reconciliation with God, but they can also apply to us with others. Love that you are enjoying your new church family and breaking down walls at the same time. That is awesome and a God-thing.

    • December 29, 2012 at 8:19 am

      Bill, I’ll let you in on the irony of it. We helped plant this church ten years ago. I didn’t react well to some things and left. Now, ten years later we are back and loved and welcomed. And home.

  2. December 28, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Great thoughts! I try to. I hope that I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

