Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Do Numbers Matter?

Do Numbers Matter?

Recently I realized that I had written the six hundredth Deuceology post.   At one point I might have made a big deal about that six hundredth post.  I would have tooted its horn that day.  However, I have two reactions to it today.

First, I’m just glad that you folks read this little pit stop in the blogosphere.  It’s humbling that I have people who tune in to read my musings.

Second, numbers really don’t matter.  The number of posts I write and are read just doesn’t mean a lot.  What matters are the friendships I have made.  What matters is if this blog has made a difference in someone’s life.

The number of blog posts I have written really doesn’t matter.  What matters is if those blog posts have made a difference.

A lot of bloggers are concerned about their numbers.  I know I have been.  In the spirit of full disclosure, I do peak at my stats.  But the number of views and visits really doesn’t really matter.  What matters is if any of those views and visits have made a difference in those visitors lives.  And mine too.

A lot of churches are concerned about numbers.  Their numbers are too low.  The numbers in their tithes and offerings are too low.  Their attendance is growing tremendously.  They grew at ten percent last year.  Their tithes and offering grew at fifteen percent.

Those numbers don’t matter if people aren’t being reached with the gospel and spiritual growth isn’t taking place.

Do numbers matter?  Yes and no.  The right numbers matter.  The problem is that we too often focus on the wrong numbers.

Have you ever gotten caught up in numbers madness?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. January 4, 2013 at 2:45 am

    Numbers are nothing–you’re right, man. Engagement is where it’s at, i.e. are lives being touched. That’s what matters. Playing the numbers is a zero-sum game.

    Good post, Deuce!

  2. January 4, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Funny, I broke the stats compulsion a few months ago, and now I only think to look at them when I see posts like this. 😉

    You’re right, though. The relationships are the key. Like you, I’ve made a lot of friends and connected with people that share my passion for making a difference in people’s lives. Hard to “count” that, but it’s what matters.

  3. January 4, 2013 at 8:57 am

    Since I am technologically illiterate I don’t even know what my stats are except how many posts I have done and how much spam has been caught. 🙂 I have played the numbers game in churches. Ends up with a lot of heartache.

    • January 5, 2013 at 7:42 am

      That’s pretty cool, Bill. I would say the best stats you have are all the comments you get.

  4. jonstolpe
    January 4, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    I’ve always been a numbers guy. I guess that’s why I went into engineering.

    Having said that, numbers for the sake of numbers don’t really matter all that much. But numbers can tell a story. I look at my blog numbers (probably more than I should) to help see what things are resonating with my readers. Churches should look at their numbers to determine their effectiveness in fulfilling the Great Commission. Is the church growing? Are people finding Christ? Are people plugging into discipleship type relationships? These things matter.

    • January 4, 2013 at 4:52 pm

      To a point, I don’t disagree with you. The problem is when the numbers mean more than the people they represent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

