Home > Christianity, Faith > A Gospel Centered Year

A Gospel Centered Year

I know that we are just about past the time for posts like this, but please indulge me one last one.  I promise that I won’t continue these beginning of the year type posts.

What kind of year do you want?  Since most of you who grace me with coming to this blog follow Christ, I specifically mean what kind of year spiritually do you want.

Do you want your year to be worship centered?

How about fellowship centered?

What about prayer?  Do you want prayer to be the center of your life this year?

Bible study?  Reading the Bible through?  Would that be the focus of the next few months?

All of these are wonderful ideas.  I want all of these things to be part of it, but I want all of them to point to and derive their power from one thing.

The Gospel.

I want the Gospel to be the center of my life this year.

Someone may want to get all over me about that.  Perhaps they would challenge me and say that Christ should be the center.

I don’t disagree.  I just happen to think that you can’t have a Gospel centered year without Christ being the center.

So this year, at the center of my life, I want the Gospel of Jesus Christ to be central to everything I do and think.

Will I succeed?  The answer is in the future.  I do know that If I don’t go fishing there is a good chance I won’t catch a fish.  If I don’t make the effort there is a pretty good chance that I won’t succeed.

I want 2013 to be a gospel centered year.

What is going to be the center of 2013 for you?

  1. January 8, 2013 at 5:57 am

    I want every day, for the rest of my life to be Gospel centered! There are two “enemies” of the Gospel in this world. The carnal mind is an enemy. The spirit of this world (Which is Satan’s spirit) is an enemy. Jesus said, you cannot serve two masters…and there are only two to choose from! He said if you are not for me, you are against me. For me, I found that I really did love this world. James 4:4
    Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.
    So, something I do regularly is repent of wanting what the world has to offer me.

    It’s natural to love the world, it’s our natural kingdom, but when we are born again, we are translated into another Kingdom…Colossians 1:12-14 12 Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light:
    13 Who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son:
    14 In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins:

    Our purpose for living and being has changed…we no longer have any other reason to live except to rightly carry The Testimony Of Jesus Christ and that makes us Living Epistles…2 You are our epistle written in our hearts, known and read by all men;2 Cor 3:3 “clearly you are an epistle of Christ, ministered by us, written not with ink but by the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of flesh, that is, of the heart.” The Gospel is demonstrated in the life of people whose lives are not their own, but Jesus’…..I realize this was a bit long for a comment, but it really does matter to me!!

  2. robshep
    January 8, 2013 at 6:37 am

    Have you read Gospel by JD Greear? Great book!

    • January 8, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      I haven’t read it, Rob. I may have to put it on my list.

  3. January 8, 2013 at 7:23 am

    I was going to say me-centered but thought better of it. 🙂 I like your idea: it can’t be Gospel-centered without being Christ-centered. That is what I want.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

