Home > Christianity, Faith > Why I Was Miserable For Nine Years

Why I Was Miserable For Nine Years

I found out the other day why I was miserable for nine and one-half years.

What? You didn’t know I was miserable for the past 9 ½ years? I was. Sometimes I even knew it. I blogged about it. It affected my marriage, my work and my church life. It kept relationships from developing and forming. I was just plain miserable.

I was even good, at times, at faking that I wasn’t.

But for nearly a decade, I was miserable.

How did I find out? That is a two-pronged answer. If you have been reading this blog for a while then you know that we have found a church home. At last. We’re excited about the present and the future.

Here’s the other side of that coin.

I was reading in Galatians the other day. I saw something that I am sure I have read dozens of times. But here is what I saw this time in the first two verse of the second chapter of Galatians.

Paul submitted his gospel to the apostles. James. John. Peter. The Big Kahunas. Jesus’ inner circle. Paul gave them authority over what he was doing even though Christ had appeared to him and appointed him to be an apostle. Later on that came in handy when Paul had to admonish Peter. He might not have been able to do that without submitting to Peter first.

That’s why I was miserable.

I wasn’t willing to submit to anyone.

I wasn’t submissive to my church.

I wasn’t submissive to my pastor.

Please don’t misunderstand me. I’m not talking about letting others have control over my life. I’m not talking about letting my church make decisions for my life. I’m not talking about taking orders from the pastor.

I mean that my campground ministry didn’t recognize my churches authority.

I mean that my blog didn’t recognize pastoral authority.

So, what do I do to keep from making that mistake again? What do I do to make sure that I don’t become miserable again?

I will invite my pastor and my church to read my blog. And participate.

I will invite my pastor and my church to work with me in the campground ministry I have worked with over the past decade.

I don’t wish to reach my previous state of being miserable.

I plan to take the steps necessary to avoid it.

Are you submissive to your church and pastor?

  1. January 10, 2013 at 5:23 am

    I’m submissive to my pastor. I have conversations with him every day. 🙂 Actually, I am submissive to a group of elders with whom I have the privilege of working. We work together well and they are a good group to sometimes slow me down in what I want to do. But they are also willing to step out on faith. On your side: I believe I see God blessing that camp ministry with a powerful blessing because of the submission.

    • January 10, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Thanks Bill. I am even in the process of developing a plan to work with my elders on this.

  2. January 10, 2013 at 8:43 am

    Awesome, Larry.
    I know it’s hard for me to submit to authority a lot of the time when I need to, but God definitely doesn’t intend for us to live autonomously.

    • January 10, 2013 at 8:52 am

      Thanks Stephen. I would have argued that I wasn’t’ doing that. It has taken a while for me to realize that I was not being submissive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

