Home > Christianity, Faith > Just Another Blog Post About The Church And Sex

Just Another Blog Post About The Church And Sex

Sex and sex and sex and sex.

Do I have your attention?  I think that I could really drive the traffic to my blog if I wrote one or two about sex every week.  We like to read about sex.  We like to watch TV that involves sex.  We like to read about sex.  Don’t we all know someone who read 50 Shades of Grey sometime over the past year?

It almost as thought that we don’t see ourselves as spiritual beings having a physical experience.  Instead we see ourselves as sexual beings having a Church experience.  So much of the emphasis in the Church during my life has been about sex.  How as a teenager I should avoid it?   How as an adult I should avoid it with anyone but my wife.  How sex with someone of the same-sex is wrong?

And I believe all of that.

But, what if we have it all wrong?

What if we are really the Church who get to just have sexual experiences?

What if we quit focusing on simply teaching our kids to simply avoid sexual sin?

What if we quit simply preaching about the potential dangers of adultery?

What if we quit worrying about whether or not homosexuals have rights or not?

What if we quit advocating this sexual group or another?

What would we do?

What if we simply turned our focus on Christ?  What if we were so enthralled with Him that He was more important to us than any sexual experience we could have?  What if we were so overcome with Him that sex paled in comparison?

I’m not saying that we should not have sex or an opinion over what is sexual sin or not.

What I am saying is that perhaps it’s time for us to be less concerned with sex than the One who gave it to us.  Maybe it’s time we put sex on the back-burner and Christ in His proper place.

Do we put too much emphasis on sex within the Church?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. January 14, 2013 at 5:32 am

    I personally try not to place an emphasis on anything-sex included- other than Jesus. I was speaking with someone who came from a church where the pastor constantly talks about guns and storing up stuff for the future. What about Jesus? That is one of the things that has drawn them to our place. I will speak up when the subject comes up (maybe) but my emphasis has to be Jesus.

    • January 14, 2013 at 5:39 am

      Amen, Bill. It seems like we ought to stick with what the Bible talks about.

  2. January 14, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    The topic of sex seems to be popular. It was taboo for so long that in our “freedom” now it takes on a life of its own. I think that anything emphasized more than Jesus regularly is out of its proper place.

    • January 14, 2013 at 8:46 pm

      What I don’t understand are those in the church who, from my viewpoint, take such a stance on any side of the issue that eclipses Christ.

  3. Arny Sanchez
    January 14, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    I’ve often wondered…and excuse me if i’m being really honest…But if sex can feel soooo good (endorsing of course only sex with your married spouse)…

    then the feelings i’m gonna have in Heaven are gonna be…well…unimaginable…lol…

    No hear nor eye nor has entered into the mind of men…are the things that God has prepared for us…

    Amen!

    God Bless Larry!

  4. January 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    Couldn’t have said it better, Larry. If Jesus was the point (instead of our “avoid these things” lists) I can’t imagine the potential impact of the Church.

    • January 15, 2013 at 5:34 am

      Right, Stephen. It’s like those things are avoided. But preach them when they come up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

