Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Dear Mr. Christian Blogger Guy

Dear Mr. Christian Blogger Guy

Or Ms. Christian Blogger Gal:

Thanks for reading this blog post. I know you probably have better things to do that to mess around with a blog like mine. You probably have posts to write. Maybe you’re working on your next book or something.

Listen, I’ve been following you on Twitter for a while. I don’t read every blog post or tweet of yours, but I see plenty of them. You are immensely talented. You will have more people read your blog today than I will in a year. That’s pretty dang cool.

Lately, though, I’ve been worried about you. Well, worried isn’t the right word. Concerned would be better. Let me tell you why.

As I scan your tweets and blog posts, there just seems to be something missing. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been there. It’s just, well, here it is.

You seem angry.

You rail against things. Celebrity pastors seem to be one of your main targets. I’m not real crazy about the one who seems to especially get under your skin. He seems like a jerk. I can see where it is easy for him to rub you the wrong way.

There are issues that really irritate you. If someone well-known writes a blog post that runs counter to your view, you seem to immediately fire off a response.

Here’s my problem. I seem to know you more for what you are against than what you are for. Or Who you are for. You spend most of your time talking and writing about who or what you are against rather than the One you claim to follow. I hardly hear about Christ from you. Instead, I hear about what is wrong with this person or the church or the Church.

I’m not immune to that. I have done my fair share. Hopefully I won’t spend any more time doing that.

I’m going to pray for you. I’m going to pray that whatever is sticking in your craw will get pulled out. I hope that you will somehow become a happier person. At least in public.

I wish you the best and God’s will in all that you do.

  1. January 15, 2013 at 5:27 am

    I once has a person who commented on my blog who seemed to be this type of person. She was especially critical of pastors or leaders of the church. Any church. All the problems of Christiandom seemed to be the fault of leaders. I haven’t heard from her in awhile since I confronted her about her “in your face” approach to a pastor she was sitting under. Right or wrong, she told him he was a hypocrite (without merit?) and was threatening to walk out. She has failed to respond lately so have no clue. While I miss her visits, I don’t miss her criticism.

  2. January 15, 2013 at 8:48 am

    What is so sad about such people is that they are so quick to judge – when it is not their place to. You are right to say tat you will pray for such people, because it is not the healthy who need the Healer…

    • January 15, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      I think most of us have been n that position. The key is not staying there.

  3. Arny Sanchez
    January 15, 2013 at 9:29 am

    lol…love the letter like sequence…pretty creative…
    I can be very critical sometimes of church leaders also…but never on a platform…like a blog or a pulpit…or even on social media…
    It’s just over some coffee kinda conversation i will have with certain people…
    There is just a time and place…the internet..is not…
    plus…i would never rise up a propaganda or agenda against a church leader either..
    Plus…church leaders have it tough man…i know my pastor does…it’s a tough life…one that NO one about unless they been in their shoes…

  4. January 15, 2013 at 11:01 am

    I think it is all too easy to become negative and use the blog to pick apart those things that we disagree with. Then I try to step back and remember why I started writing in the first place; to draw people closer to Him rather than push away.
    Great letter today, Thanks.

    • January 15, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      Sele, that is so important. What are we doing to build each other up?

  5. January 15, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    I love that you wrote this. I’ve been thinking I need to approach an acquaintance who, while making some valid points about Christians in general, has stepped way over into attack mode. I love this blogger-person dearly, but when I read commends on posts written am struck by the Christian-hating atmosphere that exists there without challenge. It’s self-feeding.

    I always want what I write, whether in a blog post, on social media or in a note to someone, to be God-glorifying and person-edifying. Basically, if I think God would not like my words, I try to not write or speak them. (Please note: I said TRY. Not quite there yet.)

    • January 15, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      I have done enough of it myself in the past. Just want to stop a few from doing it if I can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

