Home > Christianity, Faith, Uncategorized > Just Call Me The Deuce

Just Call Me The Deuce

For many years, I have been happy to label myself as a conservative.  I mean this in every area of my life. Especially my theology.   However, my discontent of this term has grown and led me to a decision.

Don’t call me conservative anymore.

Unfortunately, that lumps me with people like Rush Limbaugh and whatever politician is pandering to the Evangelical Right.  Quite honestly, I hate being pandered to.  Plus my political thinking has shifted and is much less important to me than it used to be.

Don’t call me liberal.  I am the furthest thing from being liberal in any area of my life.  However, I am striving to be liberal in one area of my life and I have a long way to go.  I want to be liberal in love.

Don’t call me progressive.  I’m not that.  I don’t throw out the old simply for something new.  I don’t allow what is the popular current thought of the culture to make a decision for me.

Don’t call me fundamentalist.  The last thing I want in my life is some sort of legalism controlling me.  I don’t want  that for you either.

Don’t call me evangelical.  That term is so broad that I don’t even know what it means anymore.  It might have meant something when Carl F.H. Henry was developing the term, but I’m not so sure anymore.

You can call me a couple of things, I suppose, if you want to.

You could call me a Christian, but I wonder if the shelf life of that term ended.  A lot of Americans call themselves Christians, but I’m not sure about that either.

Once you could have called me Baptist or Southern Baptist and I would have worn that badge proudly.

Timothy Keller uses the term orthodox to describe himself and I like that term.  Please don’t confuse it with Orthodox.  I’m not that either.

You could call me Biblical, but I screw that up sometimes.  I know that I am not infallible in my interpretations and that my eyes will be opened wide when I get to glory.

You could call me a believer.

You could call me a follower.

You can call me someone who is on the Way.

Or you can just call me Deuce.

Do you fit neatly into labels and categories?  Have your labels or categories changed over the years?

  1. January 24, 2013 at 5:29 am

    I don’t like labels. I grew up in a tradition that said it was non-denominational and to call us “Christians only.” Like you said, that has lost its oomph. I certainly don’t want any of those that you mentioned and for the very same reasons. i reckon follower of Christ or Christ-follower would fit except Miley, Justin and some others have negated that term. Call me Bill or cycleguy. Yeah, only I can mess that one up.

    • January 24, 2013 at 5:30 am

      Bill, if you ever come to Knoxville to visit, we’ve got to meet up.

  2. January 24, 2013 at 6:25 am

    This is the best post I have ever read! It fits me to a ‘T’ and almost tells you everything about me, except Deuce. I could be called Christian, Christ follower, or believer but they are labels that have been worn out and so many claim to be but live a different life on the outside that contradicts it.
    In the end I would really just like to be called friend.

    Have a great day Deuce!

    Ed

    • January 24, 2013 at 6:44 am

      Thanks Ed. I actually have the summary of why I’m called the Deuce on my About page, but here it is. My Dax’s nickname was Ace. My parents named me after him, but hated the term Junior. So they put an II at the end of my name. Since he was the Ace, I am the Deuce.

    • January 24, 2013 at 6:45 am

      There is also a longer version sometime back in a post called The Origin of the Deuce.

      • January 24, 2013 at 7:12 am

        I have read your story and by no means meant to trivilize it. I just said I have never been called Deuce. My nickname growing up was Fletch rather than junior as I was named after Fletcher Christian, my great great uncle, from The Bounty days.
        I would still rather be called friend. If you are ever down in the Marshall, Texas area look me up – I’m sure we would be good friends.

      • January 24, 2013 at 7:35 am

        Didn’t think you were, Ed, and I’m sure we would be.

  3. January 24, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    They still call me Stretch from time to time.

    Love this post as it fits with many of my recent thoughts.

  4. Faye
    January 24, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I’ve worn more labels than Carters’ has liver pills (pun somewhat intended). The toughest one to finally admit & pull off is “people pleaser.”
    .
    As for you, I’m going to keep calling you Larry.

    • January 24, 2013 at 10:20 pm

      I have to admit that when I started this one, I had no idea where t was going. And I can handle Larry.

  5. robshep
    January 25, 2013 at 6:52 am

    Great stuff. Since high school I loved the song Jesus Freak. Love the song and like the thought of being called that.

  6. January 25, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I do not fit into labels well. I have a tats, a big beard and sarcastic off beat humor. I don’t call it preaching when i speak to people in a group. I am a missionary that doesn’t plant churches. I go by Barba, will answer to friend, cringe a little at the churchy “brother” and run from being called “pastor.” However, I would rather be called than not, so, I can put myself aside and deal with it.

    Great post Deuce

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

