Home > Christianity, Faith > Swiss Time Is Running Out

Swiss Time Is Running Out

So, a friend of mine was surprised the other day to find out that I am a Bluegrass fan.  Yes, it’s true.  I love the music that originated with Bill Monroe and his Bluegrass Boys.  It’s a wonderful style of music that leaves me smiling any time I listen to it.  Plus, how often do you get to listen to a style of music that you can trace back to the creator?  Not often, I say.

The thing is, though, that I like all kinds of music.  Yes, that includes Rock.  Yes, I admit it, I like the music that I was not allowed to listen to when I was a kid.  In fact, I thought all rock music was the devil’s music until sometime in my high school years.  And yes I do look back at those times with some nostalgia.

Being late to the game, I had some catching up to do.  I dove in and learned the history of Rock just as I learned the history of Bluegrass.  Sure, I knew about those groups in the 60’s that my dad listened to before he abandoned Rock n’ Roll..  I knew who the Beatles were.  I knew all about the groups and singers before the Beatles and other British invaders came to America.  But I had to learn about those late 60’s, early 70’s bands.  Led Zeppelin entered my frame of reference.  I listened to Pink Floyd.

And then there was Deep Purple.

Making the Guinness Book of World Records for being the loudest band is pretty cool.  Having a song that has the line, “Swiss time was running out” and mentions Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention is even cooler.  Deep Purple was some band.  There’s only one problem.

Their time is over.  They are reduced to being a nostalgia band.  Their Swiss time has run out.

Our time is running out too.

We have a Savior who came into this world.  Prophecies had been made to alert Israel to the fact that He was coming.  As Paul tells us in Galatians 4:4, that happened “when the fullness of the time came.”  Christ came when He was supposed to.

The same could be said for His life, His death and His resurrection.  Those things happened when they were supposed to, when the fullness of the time came.

It’s the same for you and me.  Our time here on Earth is short.  The time our watches show between now and when we leave grows less everyday.  Our Swiss time is running out.

What are we to do?  What should our reaction be?

We should not wasted a moment of it.  Since our time here is limited, let’s make the most of it.  We have people to love.  We have the Gospel to proclaim.  We have a mission to fulfill.  Let’s get to it.  Let’s quit drifting through life hoping God will do something sometime.  Let’s be vehicles for Him to do something NOW!!!

Swiss time is running out.

  1. January 31, 2013 at 6:17 am

    time changes things. The rock of my generation (Led, etc) is not the same as today. The hair bands (whom I did like) are not the music of today. I Like Tommy James but know his music is out of step with today’s dub step. Life is like that. All things come to an end in time. Good point Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

