Home > Christianity, Faith > How Are You Measured?

How Are You Measured?

Some of you might recall that about a week and a half ago I gave up Diet Mountain Dew. Several people liked my Facebook status and tweets about it. The post I wrote about it was the busiest one I’ve had in a long time.

Here’s the problem.

It shouldn’t be a big deal. Giving up a drink that isn’t good for me shouldn’t be a big deal. But there is also another problem.

I’m afraid that someone may think that I consider giving up Diet Mountain Dew a holy venture.

It may. Or it may not. But I cannot say for sure that my giving it up is.

I can tell you why I did it and you can read about it. However, it also might have gone the opposite way.

I could have given it up for any number of reasons. I could have given it up simply for myself. I could have given it up to be more holy. I could have quit Diet Mountain Dew so others and the Lord would look at me differently. None of that is the case. Here is a tweet I wrote this week that was inspired by quitting Diet Mountain Dew.

You aren’t measured by what you give up. You are measured by Who you gain. You can tweet that if you want.

Giving up Diet Mountain Dew does me no eternal good if it doesn’t help me grow closer to Christ.

God doesn’t think I’m any big deal because I was able to lay down a soda instead of drinking ten gallons a day.

God doesn’t think I’m anything because of what I eat or drink.

He thinks I’m a big deal because I belong to His Son.

That’s it. Simple.

I’m measured by the Son.

How are you being measured?

  1. February 5, 2013 at 5:21 am

    Totally agree Larry. Maybe we ought to take that same approach to athletes and remember they put their pants on the same way we all do.

    • February 5, 2013 at 5:27 am

      Exactly, Bill. I can admire their ability, but that doesn’t determine their worth.

  2. February 5, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Awesome word, Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

