Home > Blogging > Are You Ready To Start?

Are You Ready To Start?

I’m not sure when you are reading today’s post.  It may be early and I haven’t left for work yet.  Maybe it’s mid-day and I am wrapping things up at work.  Perhaps I’m on my way to Franklin, TN or on my way back to Dunn Holler.

It doesn’t matter.

Today is the day I Start.

Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average and Do Work that Matters

I am part of Jon Acuff’s Start Launch Team.  Start is Jon Acuff’s new book that releases today.  I also happen to be going to Start Night where Jon will be presenting much of what is in the book.  I look forward hearing about:

Punch Fear In The Face

We all fear something don’t we?  Often it is fear that prevents us from starting….anything.  Whatever our dream is, whether it’s becoming a public speaker, starting a business or writing a novel, fear likes to cuddle up to us  and keep us comfortable.  Starting is not comfortable.  Once we start, though, is when we will find our reward.

Escape Average

Too many of us simply settle for average.  We have average lives with average families and average jobs.  Average wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t just average.  Escaping average requires something.  it means that we have to start.

Do Work That Matters

One of the worst indictments we may face is that we come to the end of our life and it simply didn’t matter.  We have no made no impact on the world.  We didn’t affect anyone else’s life or our community’s or, gasp, the world.  Where will we find the beginning of the answer?  When we start.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.  That single step requires one thing.  It requires us to start.

Are you ready to Start?

Categories: Blogging Tags: , , , ,
  1. jonstolpe
    February 7, 2013 at 5:56 am

    I’m part of the Start Launch team as well. I look forward to hearing how Start Night goes. Keep us posted.

    • February 7, 2013 at 5:57 am

      I’ll need to write another post about it, I’m sure.

  2. February 8, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Larry, it was great meeting you at Start Night. I’m really excited about Jon’s new book. Even more, I’m excited about what direction God is leading me and where He wants me to “Start”. Reading some of your posts right now and really enjoying them. Keep it up.

    • February 8, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      Great to meet you too. Remember when you start, you will fall some. It’s part of of the process.

  3. Dan Black on Leadership
    February 9, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Larry,

    I can’t wait to read his new book. I recently read Quitter and really enjoyed it.

    • February 9, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      Dan, I was able to get a copy for going to Start Night. I’ve started it and it is good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

