Home > Christianity, Faith > How Do You Communicate?

How Do You Communicate?

A couple of days ago, my friend Jon Acuff had this blog post.  I agree with him on what he says about communication here.  We speak in so many ways besides our speech.

If you didn’t follow the link, Jon says that our communication makes its way to our audiences:

55% of our communication comes from visual cues.

38% comes from our tone.

7% comes from what we actually say.

Again, I agree with him, but I have a couple of things to add.  These additions are specifically geared for the Church.

We have the Gospel and we have the Holy Spirit.

The Gospel is the power of God unto salvation.  Think about that for a minute.  When we present the Gospel we have the power of God on our side.  This is the same power that raised Christ from the dead.  It is the same power that makes us alive and new creatures.  It’s the same power that God uses to communicate through us to others.  It’s a power that speakers that do not follow Christ do not have.

We also have the Holy Spirit to empower our speech.  Think about it.  We follow Christ and are filled with the Spirit.  We abide in Christ and walk in the Spirit.  When this happens, our thoughts and words are prompted and inspired by the Spirit.  They flow to others who follow Christ, are filled with the Spirit, abide in Christ and walk in the Spirit.

Should we pay attention to our non-verbal cues and our tone when we speak?  Absolutely.  But we should not simply depend on them when it comes to our speaking.  We must depend on the Gospel and the Holy Spirit to guide us and give us the power needed when we communicate to others.

What do you depend on in you communication to others?

  1. February 8, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I think, and may be wrong in this, but I tend to think speech that is not “biblical” can be made without the power of the HS. Granted I need to watch my words. But I also remember what Jesus said about “bringing all things to your remembrance.” I want to say that is more HS inspired.

    • February 8, 2013 at 12:02 pm

      I guess a simple way of saying it is prepare like the dickens and depend on the Holy Spirit.

  2. February 8, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    I’m an introvert. This means my form of communication is not commonly accepted by roughly 60% of the known world.

    I prefer email and writing. I’d rather text 1million times more than I’d like to talk on the phone. I’m pretty good with 1-on-1 conversations, but I don’t like big groups.

    So, I guess I depend on feeling safe in my communication with others. I want to feel like I’m being listened to and not talked over. That’s important to me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

