Home > Christianity, Faith > How To Become An Expert Christian

How To Become An Expert Christian

My friend, Jon Acuff, wrote a post recently about not being typical.  That is one of the themes that those of us who like Jon hear.  He encourages his readers and listeners to not settle for average and typical.

Why?

It takes, as he puts it, 10,000 to become an expert at anything.  Think about that for a minute.  I work somewhere around 2,000 hours each year.  I will have been in my current position where I work for five years in October.  That means that in eight months I will finally be approaching expert status in my job.

How can you become typical and average?  Some kids have played 10,000 hours of video games before they get out of high school.  Does that astound you?  Not that there is anything wrong with playing a video game.  But 10,000 hours may be excessive.  Does anyone really want to become an expert at video games at the expense of more important things?  I think the answer is no.  You get there by being average and typical at everything else.

Let me put it where in a place where it might hurt you.  I know because it has already hurt me.  How many hours have you put into your relationship with Christ?

How much time have you spent reading the word of God?

How about your prayer time?

How much time do you spending worshipping the God that created you and saved you through His Son?

Do you spend time in fellowship with other believers?

I asked myself those questions too.  I fell far short of what I think.  For far too long I have been a typical Christian.  I haven’t spent the time I needed to become a Christian who is above average.  I haven’t become an expert Christian.

Tomorrow you will read about some changes coming to this blog.  These changes are happening, at least in part, so that I can become an Expert Christian.  I’m tired of being typical.  I’m bored with being average.  I want to be an expert.

Will you join me?

  1. February 14, 2013 at 4:55 am

    Interested to see the upcoming changes here and see how the changes apply to being an “expert” Christian. I know I have work to do.

    • February 14, 2013 at 5:48 am

      I’ll give you a sneak peak: quality vs. quantity.

  2. February 14, 2013 at 5:04 am

    I’ll be there with bright lights on (that will be different for me).

  3. February 14, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    I look forward to what’s next, Larry!

    • February 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks Eileen. The main thing is I want it to be better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

