Home > Christianity, Faith > What Do We Do With THOSE People?

What Do We Do With THOSE People?

It seems like Seth Godin set off quite the thought process amongst those of us who happen to write blogs. He wrote a piece called THOSE People a few days ago that you can refer to here. Clay Morgan wrote one entitled THOSE People as well. Since those two wrote their’s, I thought that I might as well write my thoughts on THOSE people as well.

Godin’s post struck a nerve with me because I know that I have been guilty of that in the not so distant past. In fact, I have to fight to make sure that I don’t do it today and I will have to fight to make sure that I don’t do it tomorrow

I

What is the problem with saying that someone might ask? If someone really asks that question then I’m not sure there is anything I can do to help them. Simply put, if you are a follower of Christ there cannot be THOSE people.

Who are THOSE people who I am referring to? It could be someone of another socio-economic class. It could be someone of another ethnic background. It could be someone of another orientation, physical status or employer. You name it and anyone could be THOSE people.

So, what are we to do with THOSE people?

First, we should remove that way of talking from our vocabulary. We must banish this type of thinking from our minds. There is no place for it for those of us who claim Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave or free, nor are there THOSE people in the body of Christ. We are a people who includes every type of person imaginable who have entered the kingdom of God. We don’t have room for this in our lives.

Second, we must welcome them. Yes, I know this will be uncomfortable. There will be people who we don’t agree with or feel comfortable with. Guess what? Get over it. There will be plenty of people who don’t feel comfortable with us. Do you think all of Jesus’ disciples felt comfortable with each other? I doubt it.

Does this mean that we must agree with everything THOSE people are up to? No. We may change people by our love. Sometimes we may be changed. What most matters is that people will enter the kingdom. It will be an awesome experience if that happens.

THOSE people will always be around. Why? Because other people will be around. So will we.

What are you going to do about THOSE people?

  1. February 18, 2013 at 4:51 am

    I have adopted and tried to encourage the adoption of No Perfect People Allowed. I want people to know anyone is allowed to walk through our doors and will be accepted. I have also tried hard not to do the THOSE people in my own life. Hopefully it will caught as well as taught.

    • February 18, 2013 at 5:29 am

      Exactly Bill. We all need to realize that we are all THOSE people.

  2. February 18, 2013 at 10:28 am

    I can totally identify with this, Larry. Last spring I was speaking to my middle schoolers at church and asked them at what point does it become too messy or too hard to minister to people. Who are the ones that because of economic, religious, life style, and other differences we just avoid and don’t minister to? Jesus was a friend of sinners. We don’t see him turn people away because their lives were too messy. He loved “those people”. As His children, we should too. Thanks for the great post.

    • February 18, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Thanks David. We definitely have to change our thinking.

  3. February 18, 2013 at 11:19 am

    Great point. I really hope we can all be living examples of what it means to not live like this. We really can change culture and perspectives if we live it out.

    • February 18, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      That’s right, Tammy. I love that we need to be the example.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

