Home > Christianity, Faith > Platforms And Tribes (In Honor Of Ricky Anderson)

Platforms And Tribes (In Honor Of Ricky Anderson)

When I mentioned last week that I was changing the way I approached blogging, I received quite a bit of positive feedback.  Many of you were extremely positive about this move.  One of those was my friend, Ricky Anderson.  He tweeted to me, “A fine change, Larry.  Relieved to not see any platforms.”  It seems Ricky isn’t a fan of those words being bandied about throughout the blogosphere.

I understood what he meant.  In the blogging world, the buzzwords are platform and tribe.  We are encouraged to build our platforms and tribes.  There is just one problem that I see as I go about this activity called blogging.  When I focus on building a platform or my tribe, I tend to focus on those things rather than why I really got into blogging in the first place.

I began blogging for one simple reason.  I had more to say than I was able to get out in my normal routine.  I was a Sunday school teacher.  I had so many ideas floating through my head that I needed an outlet.  So I began blogging about my faith and such.  Soon enough I really wanted my blog to grow.  I learned that I needed a tribe.

The thing is that it’s easy to begin to lose sight of the whole thing.  Just like in about anything else, really.  You begin to think that it’s all about you.  The entire exercise can become one of vanity.

Most of you who read and follow this blog follow Christ.  I hope that follow me because something that I write will help you in your walk with Christ.

I hope that the platform that you hear about on the blog is the platform that matters most.  It’s the platform that make our relationship with Christ possible.  It’s the platform that Christ gave His life on for all of us.  The platform that matters most is the cross.

Tribes?  If you read and engage with me on this blog, you are, I suppose, technically a part of my “tribe.”  I say that doesn’t mean a whole lot.  At least not ultimately.  What matters most is that the tribe you belong to is the one created by what Christ did on His platform.  What matters is that you are in His tribe.

The words platform and tribe are overused in the world of today’s blogging.  They have begun to lose their meaning to many of us.  They tend to be all about us.  Let those of us who follow Christ use them in a way that glorify Christ.  Let’s promote His platform of the cross.  Let’s build up His tribe, the tribe of those who follow Him.

Let’s give renewed meaning to these words that we tend to hear.

Whose platform and tribe are you promoting? 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. philsname32
    February 20, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Good stuff Larry, I do get something out of your blog each time I read. Happy that I found it.

  2. jonstolpe
    February 20, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Great reminder, Larry. Regardless of the platforms and tribes we build here on earth, our number one platform and tribe has got to be built on Christ.

  3. February 20, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Believe Dan Erickson was also writing about this same thing recently. I tire of hearing about platforms and tribes. Are they wrong? No, not in themselves. But when I begin looking at people from the church I pastor as “what platform can I get them on?” or “are they part of my tribe or not?” they have ceased to be sheep and me the shepherd. Sounds more like a US vs. Native American stance. My platform, if I need to use that word, is Jesus.

  4. February 20, 2013 at 9:02 am

    Thanks for Juking the whole platform and tribe thing, Larry!

  5. February 22, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I agree with can easily elevate platform building and lose focus.

  6. Dan Black on Leadership
    February 24, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Great thoughts Larry. I agree, about the words tribe and platform being widely used. If we are Christians and are online our work should reflect God and His character.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

