Home > Christianity, Faith > Fear

Fear

Would you join me on a trip down memory lane today?

When I was two or so, my dad left a ladder leaning up against the house.  He came inside for supper.  Soon both he and my mom started looking for me.  They went outside and there I was.  On the roof.

A year or two later, my dad was looking for me .  I suppose that I must have been hard to keep up with.  There was one place on my Papaw’s farm where I was supposed to never go.  It was the pond.  My dad crested the hill and, sure enough, there I was, pretending to fish with a piece of barbwire.  I learned to be afraid of that pond all the way back to our house.

The thing that strikes me about those stories is that I didn’t have any sort of natural fear in either situation.  I climbed the ladder and sat on the roof.  I walked to the pond.  In my mind, there was nothing to be afraid of, no danger in either situation.

Today?  I can tell you several things that I am afraid of.  Heights?  Check.  Roofs?  Not crazy about them.  Bridges.  Tunnels.  Each of which I have learned to be afraid of.

Let’s face it.  We all have fears, some real and some imagined.  Some rational.  Others irrational.  The question looms in front of  us in regard to each fear that we face.

What are we going to do about it?

I can avoid heights all I want.    Sometimes, though, I have to face them.  I had to climb up on my roof the other day.  It’s a pretty steep roof.  When my house was originally roofed, the roofers wore harness to keep from falling.  Me?  I put a ladder against my house.  My father-in-law brought his tractor over with its bucket attachment on it.  We put the bucket up as high as it would go.  Then I put another ladder inside the bucket.  I climbed the first ladder and then performed an amazing mid-air switch to the ladder in the bucket.  That ladder was positioned to lay on top of my roof.  I climbed up that ladder, did what I need to do and came down.  Another death-defying switchover and I was on the ground.  All was good.

I beat my fear.  Was I still  nervous about it?  Absolutely.  But we did enough to calm my fears and give me courage.

That’s what the Lord said, right?

“Fear not.”

“Be not afraid.”

“Be courageous and fear not.”

There is much to be afraid of in the world.  However, there is nothing to be afraid of in the Lord.  We simply have the “fear of the Lord.”

He does not want us to live our lives afraid of this or that.  He had the book written.  We know how it ends  Why do we spend our time anxiously fretting over things that He tells us to be courageous about?

It’s time for us to face our fears and be courageous as the Lord wants us to be.  It beats the alternative.

Do you fear anything?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. February 25, 2013 at 5:44 am

    I think of the things I used to do when i was younger, like painting 3-4 stories up standing only a ladder and I cringe. Suspect it is my age, my legs, my feet, my…well you get the point. 🙂 I can’t say I am directly afraid of anything but have always “feared” being in a fiery car wreck, or a tornado (I don’t live near hurricane territory). I do fear letting my girls down.

    • February 25, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      Bill, it usually seems we fear things that probably won’t happen. I doubt your girls have anything to worry about.

  2. February 25, 2013 at 6:58 am

    My husband reminded me lately that sometimes there are benefits to asking “What’s the worst that can happen.” Sometimes when we walk through it, we see how irrational the fear is. Yes, it’s scary but God is bigger no matter what the fear.

    • February 25, 2013 at 3:06 pm

      Eileen,?we have a big God. We just have to remember that sometimes.

  3. February 25, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I found a whole new set of fears after I had to have emergency open heart surgery to replace a bad valve. My mortality was just sitting there waiting to be squashed. I have had to let God have these things. Some of them several times. Good post Larry.

    • February 25, 2013 at 3:06 pm

      I have to do that all of the time, Ken. The fears show up and I just have to keep handing them off.

  4. February 26, 2013 at 4:44 am

    Fear or worry? I know I worry about things way too often. I try to remember Christ’s words about “Do not worry…”

  1. February 25, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

