Home > Christianity, Faith > What’s Your Story?

What’s Your Story?

What’s your story?

At my church we have times where we get to share Wows with the entire body. It is exciting to hear what the Lord is doing in people’s lives. When we boil it down what we are doing is telling stories of God’s wonder and grace in our lives.

So, what’s your story?

If you read Paul’s letters, you can see his story told in so many different ways. One of my favorites is from Philippians.

Paul was circumcised on the eighth day. He was of Israel. A member of the tribe of Benjamin. He was a Hebrew of the Hebrews. A Pharisee. A persecutor of the church. Blameless according to the Law.

Guess what?

He counted those things loss for the sake of Christ. He valued Christ so much that he considered all things loss. He considered everything else rubbish so that he could gain Christ.

Paul was something special in the world of Israel. He was probably headed to a pretty prominent position. He would have been lauded and carried plenty of power.

He threw it all away. Why?

Because He saw Christ on the Damascus Road and his life was never the same. He measured everything else by that vision of Christ and he found it all lacking. He pursued Christ above all.

That’s Paul’s story.

How about your story? Or mine? Do we really count others things rubbish compared to Christ? Or do we wallow in the trash heap and the waste pile? I know what the answer is in my life.

What are we going to do about it? Are we going to simply continue to pursue earthly treasure in jars of clay? Or are we going to pursue what moth and rust can’t touch?

What’s your story?

  1. March 4, 2013 at 3:14 am

    Part of my story is about Christ taking me from Marine to Christian pacifist. The sttory can be read here with the “Look Inside” feature http://www.amazon.com/Christian-Pacifism-Fruit-Narrow-ebook/dp/B005RIKH62/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1362383868&sr=1-1&keywords=christian+pacifism

    • March 4, 2013 at 6:09 am

      That is pretty interesting. I will have to check it out.

  2. March 4, 2013 at 5:12 am

    I don’t have one of those “I was a down and outer, a junkie, etc” type of stories. I was saved when i was 8, recommitted my life to Christ when I was in college, and followed Him. I have had my share of falling downs but am grateful for the magnificent grace of a loving and forgiving God.

    • March 4, 2013 at 6:09 am

      Bill, we have the same basic story. We were lost. We were found.

  3. March 11, 2013 at 1:09 am

    Raised in the church – got angry and quit (people/church politics . . . the usual) – got depressed – God slapped me along side of my head and sent me on a short-term mission trip – changed for the rest of my life. For those who have been through it, it’s the same old thing — but for those who are down and feeling ready to quit, I’d be glad to share my story in depth — maybe it would help.

    • March 11, 2013 at 4:57 am

      Thanks for sharing, Scott. The great thing is that God doesn’t quit us, right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

